Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Troy Crossroads Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2012

I withheld my review until my child's last year at this school just to give a fair assessment. My son started Pre-K in 2006 and this will be his last year there ending 4th grade in 2012. I absolutely loved this school! The teachers are very approachable and communicative. Academically, I was impressed how early certain material was started as opposed to when I was in grade school ( :-) Granted it's been a few years). There are some reviews of the front staff being rude, and sadly, I was put off by this the first 2 years but the last few it's been the complete opposite. The have been friendly and helpful. My child was also in speech therapy the first 4 and a half years he was there and it helped him tremendously. He actually looked forward to "speech days", it is a wonderful program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2009

i love this school!!! They're communicative adaptive behavior program is top notch and i don't know what i would have done without it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

I loved this school when my daughter was here. She had Mrs. Brett for Early Childhood and she is the best! There are not enough words of praise to give her for how much she cared and helped my child. We moved out of state to be near family and it was the biggest mistake. The school my daughter is in now is horrible. Mrs, Brett will do anything in her power to help your child learn and is the most patient teacher. She goes out of her way to ease the fears of nervous parents sending there 3 year old to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

my daugthter went to this school for all grades its can amazing school i love it except the staff is very rude
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I love this school! My child entered first grade at this school a grade behind. The programs this school offeres are incredible!! With the help of his wonderful teacher and the rest of the staff at this school, he will now be ready for second grade. They have a plan in place already for next year with the appropriate help he will need to be successful. I just cannot rave enough about this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

love what they have done with my son and hope to keep him here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

As long as our children are safe and are learing a good eduction, we should all be happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

The reason we moved into shorewood 1yr ago was because the research we had done on this school! we felt this would be a great school for my son to attend!His teacher was great I can easily contact her by e-mail to discuss my childs progress!The people at the front desk can be very impolite,they need to be considerate to everyones feelings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

My son attended this school for one year. It was a disappointment from the first day. He was put in a class of 30 kids! The office staff was rude anytime I called or came into the office. The school has very tight security. I got the impression the faculty was trying to hide something. Academically, my son was bored the entire year. He was never challenged with any of the work. This school was a big factor in our decision to move out of the area. Frankly, I am shocked that this school was rated at a 5!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

Overcrowding the biggest problem at Troy Crossroads. When you have two classes sharing a classroom separated by cubicle type walls it is past time to fix the problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

I think Troy CrossRoads is a good school academically. On the other hand there is a safety issue which I feel other parents should know about. My son is in first grade and has had many many problems with kids fighting with him and hurting him during recess. I have contacted the school numerous times and the situation is still not resolved. The school informed me that while the entire first grade is at recess (approx 180 students) only three moms are supervising them!!! That means each mom is responsible for 60 children? No wonder they don't see what is going on during recess. I feel that something needs to be done to ensure proper supervision and safety during recess. I just wanted to make other parents aware of the situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2004

We moved out of Valley View School District and my son, and I just love this school so much better. It's much newer, cleaner, and the teachers care so much more about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female62%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income47%
Non-low income71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
English language learners41%

Reading

All Students58%
Female68%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income47%
Non-low income66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
English language learners35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female48%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income67%
Non-low income64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female66%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Low income67%
Non-low income70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students95%
Female90%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Low income91%
Non-low income97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 51%
Hispanic 34% 24%
Black 9% 18%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

210 West Black Road
Shorewood, IL 60404
Phone: (815) 577-7314

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Holy Family School
Shorewood, IL




Troy Shorewood School
Shorewood, IL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT