Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Silvis Jr High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
Homework is Great and ok, that's not the issues. The issue is the administration. I have to stress The bullying.

Silvis Jr High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
I do not feel that the school develops Persistence, Or determination. They teach bullying is ok.


Silvis Jr High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
I do not agree that the school has respect in their students. I feel that it very selective.

Silvis Jr High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
No the school has no compassion for the student or the parent of a student being bullyied

Silvis Jr High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
They do not treat all children equally. The administration has favorites. Bullying is a common occurrence.


Silvis Jr High School 1

Posted December 03, 2015
- a parent
The leadership in this school is less desired. I would not recommend any child attending this school! Bullying is a big issue in this school and the principal does nothing to enforce district anti-bullying policy

Silvis Jr High School 5

Posted November 13, 2008
- a parent
One of the issues here is that parents don't report when there is an issue with their child. I know as fact, that the principal addresses each and every issue. This is especially true when bullying is involved. I would make sure to get the whole story before passing judgement.

Silvis Jr High School
no rating

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
They don't control there students, My daughter is always being hit by other students boys and girls. The princable won't even talk with the students. I will be pullling my child from this school and would not recomend this school.


Silvis Jr High School 5

Posted July 24, 2007
- a parent
My daughter started attending SJH in the 6th grade. Prior to transferring to SJH, she attended East Moline public schools. And overall I was VERY satisfied w/ the E.M. school district, until she enrolled at Glenview. Since enrolling @ SJH, overall I am pleased with the quality of the education she has received. Although she hit a few bumps in the road early on, the faculty and staff never gave up on her. The teachers, principle and counselor are all inspiring. And I wish they knew how significant they have been in helping to mold my daughter into the more mature young lady I have the honor of raising!!

Silvis Jr High School 4

Posted May 22, 2006
- a parent
Silvis Junior High adequately prepares students for attending high school. It has a well established music program with an excellent reputation. Sports are available for 5-8th grades. Parental involvement is getting better.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Silvis Jr High School
4280 4th Avenue, Silvis, IL  61282
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (309) 792-3511
Last modified Silvis Jr High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top