Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oliver Mccracken Middle School 1

Posted March 20, 2014
- a community member
As an educator myself, I know that training for school personnel usually includes information on how to guide adolescents, including meeting them at their own developmental level, and by treating their adolescent issues, no matter how they seem to adults, respectfully. Somehow, though, McCracken's staff seems not to understand that. Their only desire seems to be to control thoughtlessly, and they do so with threats and by inducing fear. Ignoring the needs of adolescents to act like and be adolescents can, we know, cause trauma. It is not fair to expect adolescents to not be adolescents, and one would hope that schools recognize that. Since McCracken seems recalcitrant to change, we should all hope that the children damaged there will heal, and that those who were not damaged will learn from better role models in the future, and learn to treat others better than what they have seen.

Oliver Mccracken Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a community member
This school is one amazing school. Everyone here is so nice. All the other comments in the past are saying this is not a great school. BUT BELIEVE ME, MCCRACKEN IS THE BEST. The teachers are amazing and what's great about this school is that it's only 3 grades and its not a lot of grades. Everyone here understands each other and cares for each other. No matter what other people have said in the past, but Mccracken Middle School is the best middle school. Every parent will want to send their kids here. Plus, there isn't anything like popular and unpopular everyone here is treated equally. So if your a new "new kid" you will fit in to this school very fast. Everyone here will give you a very warm welcome. So keep the students coming please!


Oliver Mccracken Middle School 3

Posted July 09, 2012
- a parent
After a great 5 years at Middleton Elementary, I expected a great 3 years for my child at McCracken. The first year was not so great. The "Academy Level" students are favored. The music and band programs are excellent, but if not involved in these, you are invisible. The state test scores, as important as they are, take precedence over invidiual performance and success. An A student, doesn't get the opportunity to get into advance classes, because she didn't score high enough on tests. No opportunity to improve. The majority of the teachers are good, and a few go above and beyond. However, bullying and inappropriate PDA happens in the halls and the classrooms without notice. The parent rating is the lowest, since if parents kept involved, perhaps the school wouldtake better notice.

Oliver Mccracken Middle School 1

Posted May 03, 2012
- a community member
I am a current student here an trust me you DO NOT want to send your kids here the kids dont take well to newcomers these kids made my middle school experience awful the school doesnt care bout anything other then band and singers bullying is an ongoing problem an girls dress provacitively AT ALL TIMES the teachers give som kids special treatment an dont care when they yell or curse EVERYONE is fake in this school

Oliver Mccracken Middle School 1

Posted April 14, 2012
- a parent
This school has failed to meet guidelines for adequate yearly progress. Over the past six years that I have had minority children in this school, they and I have been very aware of the often unkind, exclusivity to which "outsiders"(anyone with any kind of different background) are subjected. A recent survey published in the local paper states that over 50 percent of the students consider bullying or teasing to be issues here. The leadership to address these academic and social issues just does not seem to exist at this school. Communications about these types of problems go unanswered, and they are not addressed.


Oliver Mccracken Middle School 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
I love this school and so does my daughter, her interest in reading and her enthusiasm for school is at an all time high!

Oliver Mccracken Middle School 4

Posted October 19, 2009
- a student
The curriculum is amazing here. The music class once got invited to go out of the country and the teachers will actually help students get into better placements in high school. However, the only flaw in this program is the limited level of classes. I had to take a bus everyday to go to high school and back, and it gets tiring after awhile.

Oliver Mccracken Middle School 5

Posted May 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Oliver Mccracken Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 11, 2008
- a student
I go McCracken and it is a great school

Oliver Mccracken Middle School 5

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
McCracken Middle School is just like a private school. I am so proud that my children are and were part of this school. Administration and all the teachers are dedicated oriented people. Thank you for having all of you!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oliver Mccracken Middle School
8000 North East Prairie Road, Skokie, IL  60076
(847) 673-1220
Last modified Oliver Mccracken Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oliver Mccracken Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top