Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public district
Skokie, IL
Students enrolled: 352
 

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
The middle school leaves much to be desired. The few good teachers are in the minority, and there are barely any extracurriculars to speak of. Even though the math education is decent, the Language Arts/ science/ social studies departments do not adequately prepare students for a rigorous high school curriculum. King Lab or "King Arts"- also a K-8 school- has stronger academics, better environment, nicer facilities, better extracurriculars.

Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School 5

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
BRMS is an excellent school. My daughter is in her second year and we've had an outstanding experience. The teachers are excellent, lots of extras (Chinese, Spanish, emphasis on community service and global studies) and a very active PTA and parent community. Very diverse economically, racially, ethnically, etc. LOVE IT!


Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School 1

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
I agree with the previous poster. I had to remove my formerly happy, confident child after a few weeks due to extreme school phobia due to fear of the teachers. He never had a problem in previous schools butsaid that he would rather die than go back to Bessie Rhodes. That was enough for us.
1 person found this helpful

Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School 2

Posted October 28, 2012
- a parent
Our experience with this school has been subpar. The academic teacher is good, however, she is overshadowed by more negative aspects. Our child was afraid to eat lunch due to the aggressive lunch aides and despised gym for similar reasons. The principal is new but interim. I would not recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a safe, positive academic experience until they make major changes. The parents are great at fundraising but not active as volunteers during school hours and it shows.
1 person found this helpful

Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School 5

Posted October 23, 2011
- a parent
Bessie Rhodes Magnet School is an excellent school with a strong academic focus and wonderfully diverse student population. The principal is incredibly dedicated to his work as leader of the school and is present at school functions and PTA sponsored events. Teachers are very good at providing differentiated work to challenge each student. I feel that the school's unique global focus on Citizenship/Service, Science/Technology, Cultural/Physical Geography and Language will prepare the kids to excel in our diverse and global world.


Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Although one of my most favorite principals in the world, Patricia Mitchell has retired. Dr. Bessie Rhodes has one of the most inviting environments. The staff and the parents of the school are very nice, approachable and very helpful when new families are becoming a part of the school. One of the great aspects I like about Dr. Bessie Rhodes is the paired new families with a family who has already been a part of Dr. Bessie Rhodes Magnet School. We were paired with a family and it has been great. The family has put together a play date during the summer for new students to meet their classmates and our Buddy Family" is great.

Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Wonderful caring staff and great leadership and administration make DBRMS a great place for students and parents

Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School 5

Posted September 09, 2005
- a parent
A great school, A family oriented environment A dedicated Principal, super teacher, excellent parent support.


Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School 1

Posted May 05, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School
3701 Davis Street, Skokie, IL  60076
(847) 859-8440
Last modified Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dr Bessie Rhodes Magnet School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top