Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 22 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jane Stenson School 5

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
My child has gone to Jane Stenson for almost 3 years. I love it! The teachers, so far, have been great. I love the principal as well. I only have a few minor complaints but overall it's great. Curriculum that includes art, music and PE as well as small class sizes are the reason we left the city for a better school.

Jane Stenson School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
I'm so thankful for an amazing principal and the hard work of the teachers as well!


Jane Stenson School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 09, 2016
- a parent
I believe in a strong curriculum within the school day and no homework at all. Research shows that it doesn't raise scores. We do about a half hour a night. Plus reading, ExtraMath and vocabulary

Jane Stenson School 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a parent
Very impressed with principal and teachers. Clearly care about student success and are very approachable.

Jane Stenson School 5

Posted March 03, 2014
- a parent
Jane Stenson in Skokie IL, Is a good school I have three kids here and have not have a bad experience. Teachers, principal and office staff are all great. Never had a bad experience.


Jane Stenson School 4

Posted July 23, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. The teachers are very supportive of their students and although they are young they manage to connect, build trust and get the best out of their little learners. The principal is very responsive and teaches respect and creativity, leading by example and taking the time to connect personally with the families. Would definitely recommend this school. Could improve on extra curricular activities however.

Jane Stenson School 2

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
Fine school - except for special needs. Glad it worked out for the commenter below, but my child was kicked out. Once he was better (performing normally), they wouldn't let him back in, citing that they didn't have the capacity for a special ed student. Once we got a lawyer, we had to go to transfer to another school in the district (after 6,000 in legal fees). Now he is in a gifted program in middle school. That was our experience with Jane Stenson, and their principal, who I feel was the core of the problem.

Jane Stenson School 1

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
Worst school I have ever encountered in my life. Unresponsive to questions. The teachers are unfriendly, the office staff is rude and the principal is a bully. I would strongly suggest if you are thinking about sending your child here that you rethink your choice.


Jane Stenson School 5

Posted February 08, 2012
- a parent
Excellent teachers, Wonderful principal, amazing resources. We feel lucky to be a part of a warm and caring community!

Jane Stenson School 5

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
Yes, the teachers are young but NOT inexperienced; most of them have graduate degrees or are in the process of getting them. In my opinion, the school fosters a very good environment of cooperation and encourages parent involvement.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jane Stenson School
9201 Lockwood Avenue, Skokie, IL  60077
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. (847) 676-9480
Last modified Jane Stenson School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top