Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sleepy Hollow Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2012

I have talked to many parents of students at this school. The principal who stepped down as of 2011 caused headaches for a lot of parents (said principal has decided to step out of school administration). When a child had an issue, nobody really sat and talked to the child about circumstances, and so children got 'labeled' by the administrators and teachers. Teachers' skills vary greatly, the best of them was a veteran teacher in the fourth grade, who actually took into consideration individual learning styles. Others were not competent, and left or were 'transferred'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

My son was enrolled for Kindergarten at Sleepy Hollow Elementary 2007-2008 year and I was extremely disappointed. The classroom size was too large for any of the students to get the appropriate attention they needed. My son always was sent home with cards stating that he was bad in class, and instead of discussing the problem with him they would put him in the corner for the remainder of the lesson. The cards would have the problem written on the back so I would be able to discuss it with him when he came home but half way through the year there was nothing written so I didn't even know what he was in trouble for. I had conferences with the teachers and thought that would help if I told them he needed more help with his phonics but they seemed to pay less attention since they figured he was a 'problem child'. The only thing I found to be a success was the Christmas recital which I greatly enjoyed. I changed my son's school for the following year and it was a complete opposite. He was sent home with notes every day stating that he was a joy to have in class and that he was a great help in the classroom. It seemed to me that Sleepy Hollow wants their students to be only one way and have no special characteristics of their own. I do not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

I have a kindergarten who goes to shes and we love it. I wish he would be able to stay for the whole 5 years. Excellent school. but he will be going to a different school I am hoping they are as great as shes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

I have all 5 of our children through SHES,with only 2 left in that building. The others are now in middle school. The building itself is old; however, the staff in it is very fresh! The teachers go above and beyond and the leadership of the current principal is awesome. The ptc has many hard-working parents and you can be as involved as YOU want to be. The families involved there are good families with high values. Yes, there are better schools out there I'm sure, but I also know that my children have had a terrific elemeentary foundation with a phenominal staff that cares about their academic, social and personal growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2007

My daughter has attended Sleepy Hollow for the past five years. She has received a great education from wonderful and caring teachers. As a university professor and an educator of teachers myself, I am very happy with the interaction and pedagogy that the SHES teachers employ. Awesome Teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

Dual income families who want involvement in the school will find it difficult to find opportunities. PTA meetings etc. are all during the day. Communication is poor with little advance warning of events for working parents. The school does have lots of single-income-mother involvement, which is great, but it would be nice to draw in more fathers, and more working moms. Additionally, teaching is very 'formula', and rules are strictly interpreted. Kids are *not* learning to think for themselves but rather how to follow a formula to get to an answer, which I find disturbing. The intentions are good, but poorly executed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2005

I have been very pleased with this school. My son has attended Sleepy Hollow 1- 3rd grade and we have always been very happy with his progress and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2005

I would like to stress how much of themselves the teachers give to make this school and incredible place to learn, laugh and love. Both of my children have attended this school and have received an exceptional education. Thank you Sleepy Hollow School and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2005

My daughter goes to SHES, she is in Kindergarten and loves it. I am very happy with how they are teaching. I can't believe all that she has learned and it's only Jan. I am upset that she won't be going to SHES next year and now I have to search for a great school all over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2004

We have been very happy with Sleepy Hollow Elementary. Our children have done well academically as well as socially. As working parents, we have insured that the lines of communication between the teachers and ourselves remain open. The teachers have always been willing to meet at mutually convenient times to discuss our questions and concerns. As a family, we have all been very happy with Sleepy Hollow Elementary and highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2004

I believe that the SHES teachers and existing 'stay at home moms' are very prejudicial against a two income family. We received little to no information from the teachers and staff. Also any type of meeting or function will almost always be planned during normal working hours. This is not good if you are working and want to be involved with your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

I was very disappointed in my son's Kindergarten experience at Sleepy Hollow Elementary - so much that we have moved to a different school for the upcoming year. The teachers at SHE are very 'old school' and have not adapted to the needs of students today. Unless your child fits into a certain robotic student mold, they are harshly criticized and receive constant negative reinforcement. Communication is almost non-existant if both parents work. It's almost as though working moms are discriminated against. Perhaps one of the most disturbing occurances were frequent informational sheets that went home with gross gramatical and spelling errors, as well as just being poorly written. I give the school a thumbs down.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female53%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income50%
Non-low income65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)43%
Students without disabilities63%
English language learners27%

Reading

All Students64%
Female77%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income50%
Non-low income71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)36%
Students without disabilities70%
English language learners46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female57%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Low income41%
Non-low income63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female74%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Low income55%
Non-low income76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female86%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Low income73%
Non-low income93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female63%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Low income62%
Non-low income62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female87%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Low income62%
Non-low income84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 51%
Hispanic 14% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

898 Glen Oak Drive
Sleepy Hollow, IL 60118
Phone: (847) 426-1460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Parkview Elementary School
Carpentersville, IL


Immanuel Lutheran School
East Dundee, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT