Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fox Meadow Elementary School 4

Posted March 14, 2016
- a community member
All in all, the teachers are great ! This is the only reason why the 4 star rating. The office staff is rude , and the principal is ineffective and a bully for this I give a 1 star rating.

Fox Meadow Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 14, 2016
- a community member
Here are the standouts : Mrs. Thompson is a wonderful teacher who my oldest still talks about 8 years later. Mrs. Williamson is extremely helpful and great for anti bullying. Mrs. Hopp is the sweetest person on the planet and is very positive. Mrs. Seyller is great too


Fox Meadow Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted March 14, 2016
- a community member
From the teachers , yes. From the principal , NO. She just can't seem to bring herself to the kids level to understand them .

Fox Meadow Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted March 14, 2016
- a community member
This school has a huge bullying problem, and nothing is ever done about it. The new principal Ms. Brown is very out of touch with the students, and there is a very weird tense vibe in this school since she arrived. Forget bringing any problem to her attention, she takes days and sometimes weeks to respond , and then gets extremely defensive and turns it back onto the parent or student. Can't wait to be done with this school. On another note , all the teachers but two have been great ( we've had 12 teachers between my kids)

Fox Meadow Elementary School 3

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
The teachers here are great ! Between my two children , we have had most of the teachers....12 in all . However , the new principal that started 2 years ago is terrible. She has a superior attitude, is very abrasive, and does not seem kid friendly at all. I have been a parent volunteer 2 -3 days a week for years at this school, and the whole vibe in the building has definitely changed. Because of this I no longer volunteer .Doesn't seem like even the teachers care for her. After having a small issue that I thought important enough to bring to the principal's attention, I contacted her( first time in 9 years that I felt the need ), and not only did it take 2 weeks for her to respond, but she was not receptive at all , was very defensive, and did absolutely nothing to solve the problem. Many other parents I spoke with had the same experience with her. All in all the teachers are great, but the there is a tense feeling in the air because of the principal.


Fox Meadow Elementary School 1

Posted August 04, 2014
- a community member
I was a former student at this school and I was bullied a lot. Some of them by the same people that bullied me before. One teacher did something about it but they got rid of him because he would always do plays every year. But they didnt get punished at all. I heard the they would play a board game with the principal after school for 30 minutes after school and call it a detention. It's not right, because that same person would go and bully me the next year. I'm not saying this school needs to be strict, but the punishments at this school don't fit the crime.

Fox Meadow Elementary School 1

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
The bully issues in this school are ridiculous. My sons teacher in first grade told him if he couldn't read the word then look at the picture. Needless to say I pulled my kid out of this school and have been paying for private school where he thrives!

Fox Meadow Elementary School 3

Posted June 08, 2013
- a parent
My daughter went to this school for six years and it was great. 2 teacher stood out as excellent , unfortunately the principal is horrible. Thank goodness she has left this year. My son goes their now and he is going into 5 th grade. He was in the split class and myself and my son were not fond of it. Hopefully this August the new principal will be friendly and approachable


Fox Meadow Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2011
- a parent
My son attends Fox Meadow he really loves it!! People complain all of the time about u46 being an awful school district, but I really can't complain. We are involved parents who care about the education our son is receiving. So far it has been outstanding!! Thanks Fox Meadow

Fox Meadow Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 11, 2010
- a parent
My son is happy at Fox Meadow and he continues to suprise me with all that he is learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fox Meadow Elementary School
1275 Jenna Dr, South Elgin, IL  60177
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. (847) 888-7182
Last modified Fox Meadow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top