Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Seton Academy

Private | 9-12 | 205 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in South Holland

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $99,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2014

This a very unique school I graduate 4 years ago I now attend harvard law school it was a great experience for me. They help you get into any university you want too. They help you to get high act scores like I did. They have excellent teachers with a lot of experience on their belt. They help students to succeed in every day life and they give scholarship which is such a nice and giving thing to do. I highly recommend parents to send their teens to this wonderful and rewarding school.


Posted March 14, 2010

This schools faces many challenges. They do not offer enough advanced and honors classes. Their tuition is higher than most private schools in the area but their accomodations are not comparable. The school does not have a library. The building is in need of repair. The office staff is very rude. When you contact them it takes several weeks for them to address your concerns. My child came to this school in his junior year and I did not want to transfer him his senior year that is the only reason he stayed at Seton. As an educator I am very disappointed in Seton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Personally, I feel that Seton can do so much more. We should have a home economics class and drivers ed. Its would be nice to have a working up to date heating system also. Our dean is ok. The teachers are alright. In lunch the line is so long there's hardly any time to eat, and some of us end up late to class. The track team hardly gets any recognition. A lady in the office always seems to have an attitude. They take forever to contact you back, which caused some drama between some parents and the school last year. Every time Seton has an event, they seem to do it the same day another school has an event (ex: Meet the Teachers Night same night as Dirksen's Back to School Night. Overall, though Seton is Alright.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

Please consider Seton as the administration is new. Principal and CEO both are fresh and energetic to have Seton reclaim the position for quality in education.Chairperson Board of Specified Jurisdiction


Posted March 6, 2007

I chose to send my child to Seton because four members of my family have already graduated from the school and we considered it a premier school. For my first year at Seton; the teaching staff was excellent,the principal was friendly, the office staff appeared to be under much stress and the Dean of Students was a true disciplinarian. My second year at Seton is much different. The teachers are still excellent, but nervous. The principal has caused nothing but bad animosity between parents and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I chose Seton academy for my son's freshman year after careful consideration. The small school and the seemingly caring, nuturing and religious instruction was an easy sell to me. So far, the teachers have been great; very attentive, encouraging and organized. The football program is new and it shows. The major issues I have had actually has been with the principal (also new this year) and the main office staff (extremely rude, not helpful and disorganized beyond belief!). The principal clearly has no authority and is very unapologetic for her blunders. If the teachers weren't so great I would definitely remove my child from the school. If you can get beyond the lack of leadership, Seton is a good choice for a more intimate learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

Great school, great teachers in science, great kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 21, 2005

seton was an okay school. They had good academic programs available and a great basketball team.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

Seton Academy does not provide many differentiated levels of instruction and the selection of elective courses is limited. In spite of this void for a truly challenging curriculum, they also do not make any accomodations for students with special needs. The school also lacks solid staff role models and mentors. The result is an average school with an average mentality. If you are looking for a good college prep program this is not the place. Furthermore, if you are seeking a nurturing environment for your child with learning challenges you will be shocked by the mediocre attention to special education accommodations. Truly, Seton is not bound to the same state requirements as public schools, but their choice to ignore accommodations is cavalier in our day and age, from a moral standpoint if not a legal one. Please do not equate authoritarian standards with quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2004

This school is not how they make it seem. they are nice and a somewhat good school but it is not the best.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 13, 2004

My student has had a valuable education at Seton Academy. She has matured into a woman through the years that she has spent interacting with her fellow classmates. I am proud to be a Seton parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 95% 18%
Hispanic 2% 24%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marianne B Lynch
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16100 Seton Road
South Holland, IL 60473
Phone: (708) 333-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Thornwood High School
South Holland, IL



American School
Lansing, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT