Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Aloysius Elementary School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Springfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 30, 2014

I have two daughters that attend St. Aloysius. I feel completely safe and at ease having my children there. The teachers are very caring , someone's always aware of where they are throughout the day and the doors are locked and you have to get buzzed in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

We love that they have small class sizes allowing the teachers to give individual attention to each student. They also invite parents to participate in the school activities which I really enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2014

St. Al's School is the last Catholic School on Springfield's north side. They continue to promote values of faith, family, middle class hard work and determination. The faculty and students at St. Als are awesome. Me and my family choose to be here when we could go other places for our education.


Posted February 15, 2014

St.Als is a wonderful, family - oriented place, where I have seen both of my smart, but shy children bloom. Teachers are so caring and dedicated, from the classroom to the care program. I love the openness of the school, the extra curricular activities including music, sports, and Scouts. I also adore Fr. Clint and his kind manner. St.Als is a North end treasure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2014

St Aloysius was out choice when we moved to Springfield 2 years ago. Both my husband and I were raised in small, close knit, supportive communities, and that is what we wanted in a neighborhood and school. I was so afraid of who would be educating my children, the other peer influences, etc. I have fallen in love with St Al's. From the teachers, to the "lunch lady" to the children form K-8, it is amazing. They not only give them a outstanding standard education, but they learn faith, respect, community, and love. I married into a Catholic family, and I could not be happier that we chose St Aloysius school. Out children are in K and 1st, and we will continue to support this wonderful small school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2013

St. Al's is a great school with core values and excellent teachers. My son has had nothing but an encouraging and positive experience. His knowledge is well above his aptitude and that is because he is challenged to excel and done so in a nurturing way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2011

St. Aloysius is a wonderful Catholic parish and school. My children receive a great education with the added bonus of growing in their faith. My experience with the teachers and staff has always been positive. Each classroom is equipped with the tools necessary for modern education. The school has well-equipped, up-to-date science and computer labs. This is a fine school with great academics and values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

This year I know of three parents that have pulled their children out of this school. And all were in the 7th grade class. Two out of three of the middle school teachers are rude and unprofessional. The principal has no control of her teachers or school. And the kids are out of control. I will not be sending my child back there either for next year. This has been a waste of money. I hear they are close to shutting their doors anyway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2011

St. Al's is a joke of a school! One would think a Catholic school would have a better school climate. The environment is chaotic, some of the teachers are disorganized and rude, and no consistency in discipline and handling bullying situations. I have to rate this school as the worst parochial school in Springfield.


Posted April 1, 2011

I would not recommend this school at all. The teachers we dealt with were unprofessional, rude and confrontational, the bullying problem is outrageous and no action is taken. If your child has any special needs at all do not send them here as they do not have the resources to accomodate.


Posted July 15, 2010

This school is not very friendly. I have been disappointed in the lack of professionalism in the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

I think St. Al's has been a great school for my daughter. It is amazing how much she has learned in such a short time. Also the possibilities to volunteer at the school and be involved is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

St. Al's is a great school with wonderful teachers. They are all willing to put forth the extra effort to give every student a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 51%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 1% 18%
Hispanic 1% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jean M Kennedy
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Springfield
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2125 North 21st Street
Springfield, IL 62702
Phone: (217) 544-4553

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Wilcox Elementary School
Springfield, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT