Advertisement
Advertisement

Springfield Christian School

Private | K-8 | 375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Springfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 21, 2014

I must say this is the best school for children to grow up not only academically but also spiritually. The loving and nurturing environment this place has to offer is exceptional. My daughter went to Westside preschool from Age 2- 5 and K , 5-6 . I cannot say enough about the love and the commitment the staff has for my daughter who is talkative and overactive most of the time. SIMPLY THE BEST!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

SCS is a top notch academic environment with a caring staff and administration. My child has grown in his time attending SCS and we look forward to continuing to send him there through 8th Grade. They do a fantastic job with financial assistance for those who need it. The Parent Teacher Fellowship (similiar to a PTO) is very active and extremely welcoming. We're proud to be an SCS family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

I strongly believe that my children are receiving an excellent education, both academically and spiritually, at Springfield Christian School. Our family sacrifices a lot to be able to provide such a high quality education to our children, and we believe it is worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2011

Excellent school, academics are extremely good. My son is reading at 4th grade level, 3 grades above his level. Staff and faculty are very involved in everything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

I am thankful that my guardian sent me to Springfield Christian School. I received a strong academic background. I have heard numerous comments like 'You can't use a calculator on this test, but you shouldn't have a problem seeing where you went to middle school.' However, you could go to any school and be subjected to cliques. I enjoyed SCS and would send my kids there some day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2007

Strong academics & bible teaching through 5th grade but clickish and poorly managed. Favoritism is rampant. Many students move to public middle school honors program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2006

We believe that Springfield Christian School is the finest school in central Illinois. Their high academics prepares students for success in high school, and their Bible-based education prepares students for success in life. With Honors Math, a modern computer lab, 8 athletic teams, Spanish at every grade level and a learning/resource program, SCS has served our family very well. SCS is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

This is a fantastic school, my daughter has been here K-3. The teachers do an excellent job of teaching and I feel she is academically at least one year ahead of her cousins in public school. Would sacrifice a whole lot in order to keep her in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 60%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 3% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 16%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Jeremiah Auble
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2850 Cider Mill Lane
Springfield, IL 62702
Phone: (217) 698-1933

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Calvary Academy
Springfield, IL




St Agnes School
Springfield, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT