Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Academy

Private | PK-12 | 295 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Springfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $75,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2010

My daughter has been going to Calvary for a year and a half. She started out in Kindergarten and is now a first grader. The teachers do a fabulous job. The work is rigorous and the expectations are high. My daughter is an active reader and writer because of this. I would like to think that her success has something to do with great genes but I owe most of the credit to the staff of Calvary Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

People can say what ever they want to say about this school, we are a great testimony how great CA is. We have five kids, four of our kids attend the Academy. The teachers are all equiped and love each students, the staff are great. You never find any schools in America, that prays in classes and have bible as a curriculum and chapel. WOW, this is why we have our children attend CA, its Christ centered school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2010

Better than most of the public schools in Springfield, but that is not saying much. If you do not attend the church affiliated with the school you will be outcast. The academics are not all that challenging and there are few athletic opportunities. I graduated from Calvary and do not live in Springfield anymore, but if I did I would send my kids to SHG instead.


Posted June 9, 2008

Calvary Academy is a great school where students are encouraged to develop academically and spiritually. Very strong sports program and a developing music program. It is associated with Calvary Temple where the programs for children and youth are top notch and abundant. The academy is open and welcoming to all children regardless of economic situation, ethnicity or denominational affiliation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

academic programs-great music, art, sports -great
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

Calvary Academy is a good school. Our children have been there for almost ten years. We have had a few issues that needed to be addressed. The issues have only been what I believe would have to have been addressed whereever we would have been. The parent participation is good as compared to expectional or poor. The response from the administration is important to me and I have found them to be responsive. My son thinks its important to mention that they have no football. Generally, the school is one year ahead of public schools in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

This will be my son's 3rd year at Calvary Academy. Calvary staff makes each and every student feel loved. Calvary Academy not only teaches about the Bible and regualr school studies. The faculty show the students by example on how they should treat their fellow person and respect God and Country. I wish when I was growing up, that my parents had sent me to Calvary Academy. I know when I take my son to school, that he will be in a loving and safe learning environment. This past year I had a chance to see the staff in action. They work one on one as much as possible, they put in extra hours to help students and parents. I'm very proud to be a parent of a Calvary Student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

Calvary Academy is a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 51%
Black 23% 18%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Hispanic 1% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Donna J Squires
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACTS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1730 West Jefferson Street
Springfield, IL 62702
Website: Click here
Phone: (217) 546-5987

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



U S Grant Middle School
Springfield, IL



Dubois Elementary School
Springfield, IL


Trinity Lutheran
Springfield, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT