Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

St Charles North High School

Public | 9-12 | 2047 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2014

My daughter loves the school. She's in sports, peer leadership and multiple other clubs. She's very involved and enjoys going to school. I do agree with the person who said there is more emphasis on athletics than academics at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

This School is excellent and is most definitely one of the best schools in the nation. This is shown with it being a blue ribbon school and constantly being ranked as a top school. Having attended this school, I can say that it is absolutely great and my 2 siblings would say the same. There are of course some problems, such as the overall quality of education, teacher quality, and organization of learning, but these are not problems that are worse here than any other U.S school. In fact, I would say these issues are better at St.Charles North than 90% or more of U.S schools. Any problems stated in other reviews (such as poor special needs services, student attitudes, etc.) are not issues taken with STC North (which it is actually very good at) but with the nearby community or the organization of education in the United States in general. I guarantee you, if you are looking to send your child to school nearby, St.Charles North is the best place to choose.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2012

Having multiple children going thru North, I can say that there are some FANTASTIC teachers who take the time to work with the students and help them understand the subject matter. Unfortunately, there are also some teachers who just shouldn't be there. They do not show professionalism nor respect when dealing with students. I have had to call out one female pe teacher on two occassions for the way she be-littled my son and he wasn't even in her class. I am a very involved parent and volunteer where I can, however, I am considering sending my youngest to another high school as I am not sure North is worth the money they charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

I look at these reviews and most that are bad have a common theme. Either their children have special needs or they feel the environment is too competitive. All I can say is that this is an exceptional school and no school can provide and or cater to the needs of every student. I am sure and have had the privilege of using some of those special services if they are need. You get out of it what you put into it and the school district has programs for those students if they need it. You may have to drive your kids to a different location but the services are there. As far as being competitive, all I can say is wait until you see college and let s not forget the work force. The children need to be exposed to this, be accustomed to it, and take it in stride. In our brave new world competition is king. Eat or be eaten and they need to realize this ASAP. I feel the job of the school is to prepare them for real life. Protecting them from competition is no way to prepare our youth that have to compete with the youth of the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

Disappointed on emphasis on athletics over academics and tracking of students rather than meeting their learning needs. Too many teachers sit in front of computers checking e-mail and have students "learn from each other". Why pay teachers to be there if they are not going to teach a student. No accountability for new teachers that are hired to teach courses they are not qualified for. Hard to believe this is a Blue Ribbon school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

My son has ADHD and requires some special education needs. Although the school has an active program and promises all the great help our son will be getting, they rarely follow through. This is so frustrating especially with the teachers who don't under stand the condition and needs. We have had to go through this every year since early grade school, so it's not just north. He actually had to go to an area wide program held in the next town where he got great help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The teachers and the administration put the children first when making decisions and determining policies. They truly care about all of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

This school offers an unbelievable amt. of support to students so they can suceed, from emotional well being to scholastic. There are clubs and more clubs and the staff will add another if a few students show interest. As a parent of a child with special needs, the amount of afterschool study grps. and tutoring is amazing, and it truly has helped my daughter. This is a school with a large student body and a bigger heart. If you hear any complaints, I believe the person truly did not want to get involved. I am greatful to the environment created by the staff and will always be proud to be a North Star parent. It is truly amazing that as a parent I can walk down the hall of a school of over 2,000 students and the staff and students greets me by name!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

It is absolutly terrible. It is a very bad school environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 20, 2009

I am currently a student at Saint charles North, It is a great school, and with all these parents claming partents dont get calls, my parents are in constant contact with my teachers phone calls and emails, the school atmosphere is great, of course people are snobs with the ammount of money in the area its hard to avoid that it is highschool, but there is so much help everyday of the week, we are ranked in the top 10 schools, its a great school if your open minded you will see so many different kinds of people there classes are challenging if you decided to take them, it all depends on the person you are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

I am a student currently at st.charles north. It is a tough school, with a challenging ciriculum but well worth it in the end! I love it here! I wouldnt want to attend anywhere, this school is very student friendly and safe[: - Tianna Rodriguez
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

I'm actually a student at North and I think it's a really good school. Definitely challenging and a very friendly school. The only issue there is the $ situation. People get judged a lot by the amount of money their parents have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2009

I used to attend this school and I loved it! There are so many clubs to join, sports are fun and the school is extremely hard but I learned a lot. I now attend a different high school and I have not learned anything. Most are extremely nice and the only real problem is the snobby-ness of some of the students. If your child gets the chance, definitely do peer leadership, which is a blast! School spirit is plentiful and besides being extremely big, this is a great place to go to school.


Posted September 11, 2008

Poor planning ,rude staff,no handicapped parking,no nearby washrooms a disgrace for the wealth they have,visit us in mchenry and be treated with respect and dignity


Posted July 5, 2008

This is indeed a new school with many young teachers and there is a lack of discipline sometimes, but the school does not neglect students who are not talented but instead requires children to push themselves to their achievements. This prepares students for college far more than constant and relentless discipline. It is clearly evident by the test scores, the athletic achievements, the nationally recognized music department, and the countless other successful extracurriculars that this is an excellent school and far above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

Our experience at St. Charles North was poor. Most of the teachers are young, with minimal experience. The kids are not held accountable for their work or behavior. If you have a child who is neither academically gifted nor special needs, he/she will be left to fend for themselves. Upon graduation, we found that our child was not prepared for the rigorous standards required by colleges, and it took some time before these standards could be met. The grounds themselves are studpendous. If only more care were taken in educating the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2005

I think St. Charles North is a great school. It has a great atmosphere, good academics, excellent athletic programs, and although it is a new high school, the school spirit is huge and growing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2005

Moved out of area so child could go to school with out competition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

The Level of parent involvement at SCN is amazing, parents are involved in EVERYTHING! There are a ton of Music, Art classes and Sports for after school to keep your child active, as a student (freshmen) I love it there! It is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 2, 2004

I think the school is great. As an alum when I tell others at my college, a Major Big Ten school and TOP five national engineering school, they are amazed at our facilities and how much we know. I don't know where she thought we have a bad rep with colleges, since only two classes have graduated and many kids went to their college of choice. graduated a Also amazed by the school when they visit. As to the mandatory gym, that is a state law. Not just a St. Charles North issue. And sure you have to ask to go to the bathroom, whopee. THe teacher are very young and enthustiastic. I found them to be very open to listening when I had a problem or kids started slipping they would ask what they needed to suceed. I would recommend sending a student there vs. any other fox valley school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female80%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asian79%
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White82%
Low income70%
Non-low income82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female83%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian75%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Low income70%
Non-low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female79%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian79%
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Low income65%
Non-low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)24%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

95.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 51%
Hispanic 6% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Red Gate Road
St Charles, IL 60175
Phone: (630) 443-5700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mades-Johnstone Center
St Charles, IL


New Directions Program
St. Charles, IL


Mades-Johnstone Rssp
St Charles, IL



South Elgin High School
South Elgin, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT