Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Edison Elementary School 4

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
Edison in Stickney is a great school! The principal is very nice and does a good job BUT- who gives tardys and detentions to kindergarten children who are a few seconds late ??? A lot of times you have to wait until everyone else's child is let out of the car before it's your turn to let your child out? So who is running late??? I never heard of anything so ridiculous! A concerned Grandparent!

Edison Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
The principal/teachers/staff really care about the students. They work with kids from many different ethnic backgrounds as well as rates of learning. Those that exceed expectations get to participate in the Think program, which allows them to learn using different thought processes. Our son has had the opportunity to be in Think for 3 years now. We are very involved in our sons education and partake in the majority of the events offered at Edison and SD103. Teaching is not just at schools, parents also need to take part in their child's education. Dr. Bernard makes that a very easy process.


Edison Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a teacher
This school is a very friendly place to be. Our students are happy to be here & love to learn!! They really demonstrate our school motto: Be respectful, be responsible, & give best effort. We have been a Spotlight School in Illinois for the past several years. The dedication of our teachers & the hard work of our students really shines through with the fantastic ISAT scores that we have achieved over the last several years!! It's a great place to be!!

Edison Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a teacher
Edison school is a wonderful place to work. The staff, students, and parents are like family. Our teachers work hard and always have our students best interests at hand. Dr. Bernard works very hard to have an atmosphere of learning and respect.

Edison Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a teacher
I am constantly amazed at the community environment seen throughout Edison School. We are more than a school, but a community and family. Staff works together to help meet the needs of all of our students. You often see teachers staying after school willingly to help their students, as well as at extra-curricular activities to show their support and interest. Parents and other community members are welcome volunteers at our school, and can been seen spending time with students to help them succeed. Students are kind to one another and come to school ready to learn. Great things come from the students at Edison School because of the positive supports surrounding them. It truly is a community school and a thriving one at that!


Edison Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a teacher
Edison school is a great place to learn. The teachers and students work hard to meet the demands of Common Core State Standards. When you walk into the school it is a very welcoming feeling. We have a number of community and parent volunteers that come to school and work with individual students. It is truly a community school supported by many stakeholders. Communication between parents and teachers is very important. Both teachers and parents don't hesitate to communicate with each other via phone calls, notes, and e-mails. Students and safety are the number one priority.

Edison Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 01, 2010
- a community member
Great School with a great staff that puts the kids needs first.

Edison Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Edison is a great place to learn with qualified staff that care about the students and their families.


Edison Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a teacher
Edison is a great place to be. It's a welcoming place where everyone works hard to be the best.

Edison Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
Edison is a great school-- Teachers, staff and Principal are always willing to go the extra mile to help the kids and their families-- with a smile on their face. Edison is the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edison Elementary School
4100 Scoville Ave, Stickney, IL  60402
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (708) 783-4400
Last modified Edison Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top