Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Streamwood, IL
Students enrolled: 510
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Glenbrook Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Every teacher has their own ideas about homework. Every child is different. It's hard to say what is too much unless its your own child. I feel it has been just right.

Glenbrook Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Glenbrook uses a PBIS behavior Curriculum. The students learn from an early age about bullying. The school has assemblies to further enforce this issue.


Glenbrook Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent that has been at the school for 6 years. I've never had a situation that was not taken care of immediately by the teacher and/or Principal. The Principal is approachable and knows every student by name. I am glad we went to Glenbrook (even over other schools in the area) and would recommend it.

Glenbrook Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children have had great teachers through out their Glenbrook careers. Each one has been great at the level they are teaching. Thank you Elizabeth, Stacy, Barbara, Karen and Chuck.

Glenbrook Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
I have personally experienced a teacher at Glenbrook who gave out 3+ hours of homework and assignments over school breaks. A year later the Principal made it a point to monitor this particular teacher and she now only gives out a maximum of 2 hours of homework. I find 2 hours appropriate. Good point to take from this is when there is a problem, if you discuss it with the Principal she will listen and advocate for the parents and children when there is a problem.


Glenbrook Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
The Glenbrook community promotes "Glenbrook Pride". The kids have a motto they recite directly after the Pledge of Allegiance. I do not know the words but it mentions being responsible, respectful and safe. I have been at the school when a teacher refers to the motto and will ask the child did their actions follow it.

Glenbrook Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Glenbrook has a very involved PTA which is strongly supported by the Principal and the Teachers. They all provide fun events for students and parents. They provide programs and supplies where U-46 fails to provide. The support staff are all friendly and genuinely concerned about the children and their well being. Most importantly because of the diligence of the Principal and her staff I feel my children are safe at the school.

Glenbrook Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
This school has made my family feel very welcome. Everyone from the office staff, to the teachers, to the school librarians are always friendly and helpful. Any issues I have had have been dealt with quickly, fairly, and in a professional manner. The staff at Glenbrook really care about the students. All of my child's teachers have been wonderful. She has really loved all of them. Last year my family went through some changes and I was concerned about how my daughter was reacting to them. I contacted the school and was immediately put in touch with the school social worker who met with my daughter. I was impressed how quickly this was handled and I really appreciated the social worker keeping in touch with me.


Glenbrook Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
After having been at the school for three years now I can honestly say that I do not think Glenbrook has a bad teacher. Yes, some of the students and parents get along better with some teachers than others, and yes the teaching styles of some teachers may work better with one student than another, but overall, all of the teachers have something positive to offer Glenbrook. All of them take their jobs seriously and love working with the kids. Having attended three different elementary schools myself, I know how important it is for a child to feel safe, cared for, and to enjoy being at school and the teachers at Glenbrook strive to do just that. I think that teachers in general are not appreciated enough for all of the work that they do both in school and outside of it. I believe that people may not hesitate to speak out on the negative, but have second thoughts about applauding the positive. I can positively say that Glenbrook has great teachers.

Glenbrook Elementary School 1

Posted April 21, 2015
- a parent
Today our son was hit in the by another boy. My son's then bounced off a a wooden board. The principal took our son to her office and gave him a bag of ice. He sat in her office for an hour crying. He has a large bump on his head. She never took him to see the nurse. She never called us until 5pm. This incident happened at recess around noon. The other boy got a note sent to his parents to sign about the incident.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenbrook Elementary School
315 Garden Circle, Streamwood, IL  60107
(630) 213-5555
Last modified Glenbrook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Glenbrook Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top