Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Glenbrook Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2015
- a community member
The teachers go above and beyond to make sure the students achieve goals. The pta is strong and have great ideas for fundraising which helps with providing tools for the school to keep up the best as possible with technology. The principle devotes a lot of extra time and is there for all after school programs, activities, and pta meetings. All staff have an open door policy and when I have emailed teachers about a concern they respond within a day to the emails. Overall I have had a great experience at Glenbrook.

Glenbrook Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Every teacher has their own ideas about homework. Every child is different. It's hard to say what is too much unless its your own child. I feel it has been just right.


Glenbrook Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
Glenbrook uses a PBIS behavior Curriculum. The students learn from an early age about bullying. The school has assemblies to further enforce this issue.

Glenbrook Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent that has been at the school for 6 years. I've never had a situation that was not taken care of immediately by the teacher and/or Principal. The Principal is approachable and knows every student by name. I am glad we went to Glenbrook (even over other schools in the area) and would recommend it.

Glenbrook Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Both of my children have had great teachers through out their Glenbrook careers. Each one has been great at the level they are teaching. Thank you Elizabeth, Stacy, Barbara, Karen and Chuck.


Glenbrook Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
I have personally experienced a teacher at Glenbrook who gave out 3+ hours of homework and assignments over school breaks. A year later the Principal made it a point to monitor this particular teacher and she now only gives out a maximum of 2 hours of homework. I find 2 hours appropriate. Good point to take from this is when there is a problem, if you discuss it with the Principal she will listen and advocate for the parents and children when there is a problem.

Glenbrook Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
The Glenbrook community promotes "Glenbrook Pride". The kids have a motto they recite directly after the Pledge of Allegiance. I do not know the words but it mentions being responsible, respectful and safe. I have been at the school when a teacher refers to the motto and will ask the child did their actions follow it.

Glenbrook Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Glenbrook has a very involved PTA which is strongly supported by the Principal and the Teachers. They all provide fun events for students and parents. They provide programs and supplies where U-46 fails to provide. The support staff are all friendly and genuinely concerned about the children and their well being. Most importantly because of the diligence of the Principal and her staff I feel my children are safe at the school.


Glenbrook Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
This school has made my family feel very welcome. Everyone from the office staff, to the teachers, to the school librarians are always friendly and helpful. Any issues I have had have been dealt with quickly, fairly, and in a professional manner. The staff at Glenbrook really care about the students. All of my child's teachers have been wonderful. She has really loved all of them. Last year my family went through some changes and I was concerned about how my daughter was reacting to them. I contacted the school and was immediately put in touch with the school social worker who met with my daughter. I was impressed how quickly this was handled and I really appreciated the social worker keeping in touch with me.

Glenbrook Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
After having been at the school for three years now I can honestly say that I do not think Glenbrook has a bad teacher. Yes, some of the students and parents get along better with some teachers than others, and yes the teaching styles of some teachers may work better with one student than another, but overall, all of the teachers have something positive to offer Glenbrook. All of them take their jobs seriously and love working with the kids. Having attended three different elementary schools myself, I know how important it is for a child to feel safe, cared for, and to enjoy being at school and the teachers at Glenbrook strive to do just that. I think that teachers in general are not appreciated enough for all of the work that they do both in school and outside of it. I believe that people may not hesitate to speak out on the negative, but have second thoughts about applauding the positive. I can positively say that Glenbrook has great teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glenbrook Elementary School
315 Garden Circle, Streamwood, IL  60107
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (630) 213-5555
Last modified Glenbrook Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top