Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tefft Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
One of my children enjoys the engineering (robot) building class. Other than that in my opinion they are not that effective.

Tefft Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
Lots and lots of busy work. The is a huge difference between busy work and knowledge building work.


Tefft Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted March 20, 2016
- a parent
Too many fights, bullying, and thefts. I have spoke with the admin knowing nothing will change but as a parent I had to voice my opinion.

Tefft Middle School 4

Posted August 31, 2015
- a parent
My son was struggling with school and doing homework the pm school really helped out. Thank goodness for Mr Harshbarger who worked closely and kept my son on track. After some time we had our son tested and he has ADD so we now have a 504 plan in place.

Tefft Middle School 4

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
My son was in 7th grade last yr in this school. I'm Byast that my kid is smart but he's in no way a genius! He passed with all As and Bs and got honor roll 1 out of the 4 quarters. I have to say I was skeptical of this school but was very pleased. My son said there were a few fights but every school has them now adays. I never got any calls for anything concerning. The teachers there pushed my son and helped him to achieve his full potential. He went from grade school barely passing and getting referrals to honor roll and being well respected by the personnel. From my experiences I am very excited for my daughter to be going here this yr also. I fully believe it will be a big turn around for her also. I would recommend this school.


Tefft Middle School 2

Posted June 07, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from tefft this year although it has a lot of awards. This school doesn't do much for its students very cheap school. The graduates don't get a special trip or cap and gown. I rarely saw the principal interacting with kids. I had a problem in gym and went to the student principal but he simply said it's not his department and sent me away. It's not organized and one of my teachers didn't seem to know much and was very awkward. There are a lot of fights there. And a lot of drug use and the teachers and principles don't seem to do much. If you got caught smoking or bringing drugs to school a 1 or 2 day suspension is all they receive and it's out of school so they are getting a little vacation for what they did. It's annoying and there are a lot of bulling going on. I know from experience. Don't really recommend this school. Unless your super smart or a trouble maker you won't get noticed..

Tefft Middle School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
My son was at another school and was not doing well, once we moved to Bartlett and he started going to Tefft, his grades became so much better and he's now graduating.

Tefft Middle School 1

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
I just got off the phone with the super attendant and he so nicely told me i am not allowed to move so my kids will go to a different school. I want my kids out of Tefft and if that means I have to move I do believe that is called FREEDOM and according to my constitutional right I am allowed to move where ever I want for whatever reason I choose. Tefft Middle School is not a very good choice. Unfortunately it is filled with a bunch of kids that act ghetto and the parents don't care. I will home school my children if that's the choice I am left with. I do agree with the last post that the teachers are great, but unfortunately their hands are tied.


Tefft Middle School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
Good SWAS program ,excellent teachers.

Tefft Middle School 4

Posted October 08, 2008
- a student
to me tefft is the greatest school ever it made me so much smarter in alot of ways and interacting with all of the other students is a great way for me to not be shy about going to school anymore the teachers are so cool and the rest of the staff is also we do stuff like the three r's and that is respect your school respect yourself and respect others and that to m e is a great message to everyone

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tefft Middle School
1100 Shirley Ave, Streamwood, IL  60107
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (630) 213-5540
Last modified Tefft Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top