Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Streamwood High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 16, 2013

This school provides everything your children could need academically. Having 18 AP classes along with the WLIS Academy its the perfect experience!.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2013

Absolutely awful, and I feel sorry for anyone that has had the misfortune of being forced to attend this school. It's filled with drugs, gangs, and pregnant teenagers. Deans harass students constantly. (I was verbally abused for holding hands with another student, and written up pulling on a winter hat on a -15 degree day just before I left the building, for example.) Teachers have either given up, or don't care. Young, up-to-date teachers are fire over those who should've retired 20 years ago. Bathrooms are disgusting at all times, classrooms are overcrowded and small. Teachers "teach" from the textbook, word-for-word, and focus exclusively on standardized tests. Unless you are a student involved in a sport or one of the many gangs,, you will absolutely hate it here. Unless you join the academy, you will NOT receive a quality education. Advice to deans, staff, and police security officers: Stop harassing students for IDs, hats, and holding hands. Start worrying about the rampant gangs, bullying, awful teaching standards, theft, and general unsafe and unsanity environment you are forcing children to spend 8+ hours a day, 5 days a week in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2009

My daughter is in her 2nd year at Streamwood, she loves it. She has joined many clubs and sports....She loves to participate and if more kids would particpate I think they would make a difference in the schools spirit. You get out what you put in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2009

The students and staff are really dedicated to trying to make a difference.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 16, 2009

Streamwood High School is dedicated to helping our students realize and maximize their individual potential to become responsible, productive and contributing members of our community and society.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 14, 2009

I love Streamwood HS because the teachers really seem to care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

We love the Acadamy which is really strong and helps our son to achieve his best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

I love Streamwood High School because it gives my son a great chance to learn and grow as a young adult in a variety of ways such as: academically, socially and athletically. There is always something for him to do. The teachers have also been wonderful. They have been easy to communicate with and have a strong desire to support my son's success. Teacher's are trained, highly qualified and it is evident that administrators are working together to solve problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

They have an awesome college prep program that is really preparing my daughter to succeed in college!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

They have such limited resources but they keep doing the best job that they can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2009

I have had 5 successful children go through SHS! This school provides so many career and technical classes. Including computers, foods, fashion & interior design, health occupations and CNA, industrial technology, autos, and many others. The experiences at SHS were positive and the outcome was awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2007

I love shs it is a very good hs and I look forward for 3 mre yrs. there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

As a former Streamwood High School student, class of 2006, I would like to say that Streamwood High school is a fantastic school. However, I will mention that there are two different aspects to this school. There are the good kids and the bad kids. Obviously, if you hang around the bad influence people then you will be caught up in bad grades and bad situations like drugs. I was part of the World Languages and International Studies Academy there learning Japanese. It was a great experience. You are surrounded by people who constantly challenge and apply themselves. Because of that, you want to excell. The after school activities are so many and they are really fun. I never attended any of the dances but many of my peers enjoyed them very much. The principal and office secretaries were kind. I know from being a page in the main office.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2006

As a parent of a current student who is a senior at Streamwood High, I believe you get out of it what you put into it. My son received a 26 on his ACT and has been in the U46 school district all his life. Other kids I know in the school district have received perfect scores in the Math portion of ACT and as high as a 34 overall score on the ACT. The kids my son hangs around with participate in all the activities there and have really enjoyed the high school experience. I attended a high school in a very rich, competitive suburb, Glenbrook North, and I got a 21 on my ACT. Like I said, you get out of it what you put into it -- anywhere! Safety is a non-issue there. Students' safety is put first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

As a parent of a former student, I have worked with many teachers, counselors and others at this school. They are not really invested in their students and I speak from experience. You can find some, but they are rare souls. They do not have the necessary security to ensure the safety of their students nor do they have other resources to effectively run the school and provide for all students needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2006

As a former student, I would rate my experience here as mediocre. Although the school has some opportunities for the honors track (i.e. the World Languages Academy and some honors/AP courses), it doesn't offer a wide variety of classes nor higher level classes for students looking to get ahead. Aside from homecoming week, Streamwood lacks school spirit. The students in general are uninterested in joining activies and the environment is pretty dull. Athletics have a low to middling participation rate in terms of the school's decent sized population. The art and music departments are noticeably underfunded and inactive, with low participation rates as well. For instance, the drama/music departments had musicals in 2002 and 2005 with a 3 year difference in between, while the other U-46 high schools had musicals every year. On a positive note, the business and health occupations clubs were most successful and encouraging to Streamwood's reputation.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 20, 2006

Decent. People don't care enough at this school. There is no school spirit and most teachers don't make an effort to connect with the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2006

Currently i am a student at Streamwood High School. It is not as bad as everyone is making it sound. Honestly, it depends on who you hang out with. As a community we try to make things better each year and it has been working. There is so much to do at Streamwood High. All you have to do is make an effort to get involved. Start playing sports, get into a club, or just do something that you enjoy and will make you feel more involed with your school. I love Streamwood High School and i hope that you just get to realize there is more to us than what people are putting out there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2005

NO I am not a parent, but right now I am a student of Streamwood High School. I think I have a better inside opinion then the people sitting here trashing our school. Yeah there are gangs and drugs, but what school doesn't have that. At least there aren't any gang shootings in the middle of the day. And we do have a police liasion and teachers that are dedicated to the students and their safety. Even if there is danger in the area they lock all doors and aware teachers and keep students away from any harm. I know many schools in the area that are in worse condition than we are in so don't even say that Streamwood is a bad place to send your kids because if your kids have that many problems it isn't the school's fault it is the parent's.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2005

Streamwood high school has massive problems including gangs & drugs. I know i went to school there. My mother was a single mom & she saved every cent she could to get us into a better school district! I would never send my kids to such an unsafe school!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female37%
Male49%
Black21%
Asian76%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Low income34%
Not low income57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities46%
English language learners8%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students40%
Female37%
Male43%
Black21%
Asian57%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Low income31%
Not low income57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)9%
Students without disabilities44%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students33%
Female26%
Male41%
Black24%
Asian52%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Low income24%
Not low income49%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities36%
English language learners3%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

82.9%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 24%
White 31% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Black 7% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Terri Lozier

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 West Schaumburg Road
Streamwood, IL 60107
Phone: (630) 213-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Clare Woods Academy
Bartlett, IL



Valeo Academy
Hoffman Estates, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT