Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


South Prairie Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a parent
My boys love this school. The teachers do a wonderful job with my 1st and 4th grader.

South Prairie Elementary School 1

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
My son went there from K-5 and it KEPT GETTING WORSE. There are several good teachers although others completely ignore kids. This school is the worst in the area by my opinion. I asked him every day what he learned and he always replied "nothing". He said some teachers completely disrespected him. 80% of the kids are white and I especially don't recommend this school if your child is a different race.


South Prairie Elementary School 4

Posted May 24, 2011
- a parent
We absolutely love South Prairie! All of my son's teachers have been wonderful, the principal and staff are so caring and friendly. My son has a severe heart defect and requires a watchful eye. The teachers and staff have made me so much more comfortable sending my child to school and knowing he will be well cared for. And he is learning so much! Reading chapter books in first grade.

South Prairie Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
I love all the kids!! They are great!!!

South Prairie Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2009
- a parent
South Prairie has a great staff!!!!


South Prairie Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 04, 2007
- a parent
I have to say I have been more than impressed with South Prairie! My son came in reading below average in his kindergarten year and extra efforts were definetley made from his teachers. By the end fo his kindergarten year he was up to speed, with all his self confidence in tack. His first grade year he excelled in reading and math and again efforts were put into play to nuture and encourage his academic growth. The teahcer went as far as putting an entire accelerated program together for him! The entire staff has been wonderful at South Prairie, listening to all my needs and more importantly those of my son. Parent involvement is key, volunteer where ever you can and you will be amazed at the community within!

South Prairie Elementary School 3

Posted December 09, 2004
- a parent
I was shocked to discover a hispanic student in the same class as my child that was being provided help from another grade school student because there were not any (or enough) spanish speaking staff to instruct him more than a few hours a week. My child has told us that a Teacher works with him once in a while, but her Teacher speaks only english. It is a total disservice to this child to be so blatantly discriminated because of his family (and language) heritage. The staff seems to think this is okay. When questioned the home room Teacher said it was fine he was learning by watching the other students. What an educational robbery! Don't consider South Prairie for your kids if they don't speak and read perfect english.

South Prairie Elementary School 3

Posted October 06, 2004
- a parent
If your child starts school in Sycamore then you move out of state your chances of your child being behind academically are enormous. Administrators don't seem bothered by that fact. Teachers are nice, but don't expect enough from the students. But if you plan on living in Sycamore for your child's entire academic career then you will never know they are behind the rest of the country-until they go to college!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Prairie Elementary School
820 Borden Avenue, Sycamore, IL  60178
(815) 899-8299
Last modified South Prairie Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Prairie Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top