Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 298 students

Our school is best known for our Christian beliefs and excellent academics.
 
 

 
 

Living in Tinley Park

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

Though the education is good, as you head into 6th, 7th, and 8th grade you will NOT enjoy coming to school. It is extremely clique-ish and me being a girl that just recently graduated I can tell you that the girls that go here are not the best of character. You will be judged by every person on what you do because there is such a small amount of students. Same goes for the guys- most guys that transfer to the school in 7th and 8th grade and made fun of by the "Christian" boys in the class. If you are not Lutheran, you will be SUPER judged so don't go here if your religious views are even slightly different. You now HAVE to join choir which means you have to go to their church 50% of the time which doesn't help if you go to a different church. Finally, their dresscode rule is crazy. NO pictures NO writing NO "outside jackets to be worn inside" (north face). Overall, just send your kid to public school. My mom regrets sending me here and I easily could've gotten an even better education in public school.


Posted August 28, 2013

My Son started last year in the 3 year-old Preschool program. It was so amazing to see how much he learned each and everyday. He has returned this year to be a part of athe 4 year-old program and is so excited! They really do have a Christ centered program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

This school is very cliquey, but other than that the education was excellent. However, there was a lot of favoritism shown to certain students. The teachers over- reacted sometimes and I did not agree with the dress code. I loved that the friends I made will last forever. The hot lunch program was excellent and all the lunch people were very friendly. The extended care program is also very helpful, but expensive. Overall Trinity was a decent school with minor setbacks.


Posted November 25, 2011

Trinity gives my kids a great Christian education. I love that the teachers and principal really care about the students. My kids have been at Trinity since preschool and I know they will be completely ready for high school. I also like that Trinity has advanced reading classes. I know my kids are safe when they are at Trinity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

My children went there. Excellent teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

I love this school! It is a great place to learn about being a Christian, and I think that the tuition is fine, beacuse the learning and the support the staff gives you, really pays off. I am in 6th Grade, and I've been here ever since pre-k and both of my sisters have started in pre-k and finshed middle school here. My whole family is dedicated to this church and school, and I absolutly recomend this school to anyone who can afford it. I think that having a smaller class really improves the dedication to the students that really need it. I love this school!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2009

The school as a lot of potential, but the only draw back is the parents and teachers appear to be a little clickish. It is like a small community and outsiders allowed because of need for enrollment, but it is felt that they would perfer not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

As a former student of Trinity, I have to say it is a great place to learn. The curriculum really prepared me for high school, and the small class sizes made learning easier with dedicated teachers. It has a close and Christian atmosphere, and I know i have made many lifetime friends there. If you can afford it, go for it and you'll be glad you did.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2007

Trinity is a nice school It is a very small school and relies entirely to much on parental involvement, which causes many problems. The school would be better off charging more tuition and hiring more staff, instead of having the parents around all the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

Trinity is an excellent school with an excellent staff. It is small school that relies on parental involvement for help. The only issue is the rising cost of tutition and the over involvement of the school board on some issues. The teachers, aides and principle all care about the education of thier students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

I consider this a good school. The teachers are concerned about the students and keep the parents in the know. This school offers extracurricular activities and the parents are involved. It is up to you how much you want to be involved. they offer music, and have a band. Art is taught by all teachers. Tuition is a little high unless you are member of the church.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2005

My daughter has attended Trinity Lutheran School for three years. We have had such a positive experince with the school and all of the educators. The children's eduacaton comes first, and the teachers help challenge the children to do their best. They take time with each child to make sure they are where they need to be academically. The teachers and principal are always accessable. My daughter loves going to school. I love that the Christian faith is a big part of their cirriculum. It is a 'safe' environment for my daughter to be able to learn her best. It is like an extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

Tinity Lutheran is a good school. The teacher are great and are concern the students learn at their hightest potential. There are alot of things to do and good parent participation. This is a Christian environment and the student are taught to be responsible. I have had experience with other schools but none of them can compare to Tinity. They also have a great Special Education Department for children who may need additional help. I highly recommend this school if you can afford the tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2004

The teachers at Trinity Luteran School are exceptional. Not only is the ability to teach a lesson extrodinary, but their compassion for the children is wonderful to see.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2003

This is a very good school. I can't imagine a better school to send your kids. The principal is great, and the teachers really care.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 51%
Black 11% 18%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 24%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • After School Spanish Club
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:40 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Principal Steve Stec
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • CSI
Fax number
  • (708) 532-0799

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • After School Spanish Club
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Trinity Lutheran School is an offiicial WeatherBug school. Visits weatherbug.com and go to Tinley Park, IL to view our live weather camera. The WeatherBug technology is used in Trinity's classrooms to enhance the science curriculum.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6850 W. 159th Street
Tinley Park, IL 60477
Website: Click here
Phone: (708) 532-3529

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arnold W Kruse Ed Center
Orland Park, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT