Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Tremont, IL
Students enrolled: 346

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tremont High School 1

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
Good 'ol boy politics are alive and well at Tremont. Cheerleading tryouts were a farce. Just needed a connection and everyone knows it. Shame on you.

Tremont High School 5

Posted March 06, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school with high quality teachers and staff. Good athletics program. Good community, safe from drugs.


Tremont High School 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tremont High School 5

Posted January 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Tremont High School 1

Posted January 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Tremont High School 5

Posted November 24, 2008
- a parent
I attended a small-town school (not Tremont), and now that my own children are attending THS, I'm very pleased that THS is surpassing my expectations by comparison. Despite being a 'small town school' with limited resources, the administration is extremely progressive. I see administrators at nearly every extracurricular activity, and they are truly invested in the school. The art and music programs are very strong . My children have the option of leaving THS with numerous college credits, and the school is expanding its AP and dual-credit courses. Yes, the course offerings may seem limited, but the school has to place teachers where they are needed most. My only complaint would be that my children have found a teacher or two unapproachable, and because this school is small, my kids have no way to avoid those teachers. The majority of the teachers and staff, however, are extremely responsive and helpful.

Tremont High School 4

Posted October 27, 2008
- a student
I am a former student of Tremont Grade School, Junior High, and High School, and my brothers are both currently at THS. While the curriculum is challenging, it is extremely basic--you get your math, your science, your literature, your history, etc. The teachers there can't be generalized, because some are great and some are horrible, but that isn't the main issue. You don't learn agriculture, and Tremont is a farm town. You don't learn English, you learn literature--most of the people in my grade did very poorly the one real English and Grammar class we had, and that class is no longer offered. You don't learn much culture at this school. The number of specialized classes is hardly mentionable, and there are NO advanced or honors courses. There are also very few courses that will provide you college credit.

Tremont High School 5

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Tremont High School 5

Posted April 05, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Tremont High School 0
no rating

Posted July 30, 2007
- a student
Tremont's students are some of the brightest I know. Not only are they very smart, the teachers care a lot about student's educations and do whatever it takes to help them if they're struggling. The sports programs are average, they don't offer a wide variety but still they manage. The music department is also highly impressive. However I suggest not sending your child here if they hadn't gone to elementary school there because they will struggle to meet the high academic requirements and not to mention the students at THS are not exactly accepting of new students.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tremont High School
400 West Pearl Street, Tremont, IL  61568
(309) 925-3823
Last modified Tremont High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tremont High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top