Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Urbana, IL
Students enrolled: 1,049
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Urbana High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Everyone passes regardless of test or achievement. How can this large a high school have zero students held back?

Urbana High School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
They have a rule NO HATS in the hallway. On any given day every other student has a hat. I asked a teacher about this, and she said.." Oh, it's up to teachers personal view to enforce." Huh?


Urbana High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Over the top diversity and too much concentration on "problem" students. Everyone else left to the wind.

Urbana High School 2

Posted May 27, 2015
- a parent
Very poor...once our son graduated, our daughter moved to Catholic School...no gangs, diversity pounded into students, and over 90% go on to college. This public school is pitiful.

Urbana High School 2

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
My son attended Urbana High school for his senior year. He hated it!! Didn't do him any favors that's for sure. He had to go to the storefront school to graduate and got A+'s from ever class there.


Urbana High School 1

Posted December 12, 2011
- a parent
UHS is your worst choice if you have any. The curriculum is very unbalanced. The school staff and teachers are not very responsive to students and parents concerns. The qualification level of the majority of teachers is questionable to say the least, but this is what you should expect from a unionized school. Champaign public schools like Central and Centennial would be a much better place for your kid. O yes, they have a new stadium at UHS, but that's all.

Urbana High School 5

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
Students and staff focused on social justice and academic rigor, UHS is a diverse and positive school that prepares its teens for a rapidly changing world by building critical thinking skills alongside standard coursework. The College Board honored Urbana High School with a place on its AP Achievement List because of dozens of AP offerings, diverse classes, and high test results. U.S. News and World report named it a top school in 2009. As a parent of two UHS students, who consistently test in the top 3% in the nation, I cannot imagine a school more suited to educating gifted students in a well rounded manner. Please check out our website for details and visit our school! www.usd116.org/uhs

Urbana High School 1

Posted July 16, 2011
- a parent
Our children attended this school 2005-2010. Within guidance of this review system all that I can say as parent - if you care about your children - avoid this school. There are better choices in area. Do your own research.


Urbana High School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Excellent cultural mix and acceptance of students of different backgrounds and orientations. Any problems are dealt with quickly and fairly. The administrative staff chooses academics and student welfare as #1 priority. Students and staff are involved in extracurricular activities and sports. In 2010 was rated in the top ten academic High Schools in the Nation!

Urbana High School
no rating

Posted March 09, 2009
- a parent
Our children have attended the schools in Urbana and they were afforded an excellent education. Most of the teachers are outstanding, the course work is challenging and the administration is thoughtful and responsive. In addition, the schools have been maintained in the neighborhoods and the students are able to get to and from school without having to be driven or bussed. The band program is excellent, the arts are good, the Advanced Placement offerings in the high school are impressive. No school system is perfect, but this one is very good.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Urbana High School
1002 South Race Street, Urbana, IL  61801
(217) 384-3524
Last modified Urbana High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Urbana High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top