Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Urbana, IL
Students enrolled: 44

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Calvary Baptist Christian Academy 1

Posted August 19, 2014
- a parent
What a failure of a school. This is hardly an educational institutional rather a facility for psychotic, right-wing, fundamentalist indoctrination. Don't send your kids here, they won't come out normal or anything close to well-adjusted. This is an inbred institution filled with the children of the overly reproductive staff of the church. Teachers aren't qualified, technology is nonexistent, and facilities are dated.

Calvary Baptist Christian Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
We feel blessed to have our children go to this school. It is a safe environment, and provides a conservative Christian education. It is small and does not offer the "extras" you would find at larger schools, but feel that we can supplement those extras on our own.


Calvary Baptist Christian Academy 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
If you are looking for a conservative Christian viewpoint, you will definitely find it at CBCA. Its smaller size makes it feel more like family. It's the next best thing to home-schooling, for those unable to home-school. Our 7 year old has been there since kindergarten, and are looking forward to our 4 year old attending next year. The curriculum is a Christian curriculum, and does have that bias. (Praise the Lord!) The public schools have a highly slanted curriculum too, but in the wrong direction. I feel very blessed for my son's teacher to want to teach reading so that her students can read the Bible. The teachers care deeply for the students. This school is a very healthy place for young Christians to grow and is certainly a much better alternative to many of the situations in public schools. (And this is written by a public school teacher!!!)

Calvary Baptist Christian Academy 1

Posted March 28, 2008
- a student
This school is a disgrace. Highly slanted curriculum, technologically inept, and lacking qualified teachers. I would not recommend this institution.

Calvary Baptist Christian Academy 1

Posted March 17, 2008
- a parent
Me and my wife pulled our child out of CBCA a while back after observing negligent teaching practices and a several cases of teachers verbally abusing students. This school is not a healthy place for children to be receiving their elementary, junior high, or high school education. I would recommend seeking out other Christian learning institutions, this one needs to be closed down.


Calvary Baptist Christian Academy 0
no rating

Posted February 04, 2008
- a student
Don't know who is writing these reviews. I went to school there K5-12th grade. I would send my kids there in a heart beat. Ones who gave negative feedback have not been there in a while. Science department has really improved, they have a teacher that is getting their doctorate in Physics.

Calvary Baptist Christian Academy 5

Posted November 30, 2006
- a parent
We consider the education of our children to be a top priority . . beginning with kindergarten. We have a 9, 6, and 4 year old that attend and I can honestly say without a doubt that this school has been one of the best decisions we have ever made (with prayer of course). You can not place a price tag on their sucess and quality of learning, a secure environment, friendship with their classmates, kind and caring teachers, a compassionate principal, reasonable tuition, super nice staff, but especially knowing we all have a common bond in our love for Christ. We are always well informed of current events. It is such a joy to know that when we drop our children off each day that we do not have to worry about them!

Calvary Baptist Christian Academy 3

Posted March 16, 2006
- a parent
Parental involvement is phenomenal. Teachers know each and every student. There is a real sense of concern from all involved. Class sizes are small and multi-aged. Unfortunately, this can slow down the more advanced children as they tend to wait on the slower ones...but overall, the children seen advanced. Science program is weak. There are a few extracurricular activities but this is limited.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Baptist Christian Academy
2106 East Windsor Road, Urbana, IL  61802
(217) 367-2262
Last modified Calvary Baptist Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Calvary Baptist Christian Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top