Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Vernon Hills, IL
Students enrolled: 610

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hawthorn Middle School North 5

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
The leadership of the principal and some of the teachers are exemplary. The principal has been here for over 20 years, and I can tell he loves his job and loves to see kids learn and grow. He knows the name of all the kids, over 400 names! We have two boys in HMN this year. We are new to the area and the school district, but the teachers made the transition so much easier for our boys. They have an excellent music program. Both the orchestra and band directors are among the best in the state in my estimation. Teachers are very kind and responsive to our communication. They welcome parental involvement. In fact, they act as if they are hungry for it. We are thrilled that our boys are in this great school. Will update info later as we learn more details and are in a better position to evaluate everything. But so far, great!

Hawthorn Middle School North 4

Posted September 11, 2013
- a community member
This school is pretty nice. The teachers are kind and understanding but also make you focus and work, which is a good and essential thing. The related arts rotation is amazing, and the physical education is very good. The principal is nice, but hardcore. He also really wants the students to be successful. It is a very nice and safe school!


Hawthorn Middle School North 5

Posted February 05, 2011
- a community member
This school is amazing. The teachers coloborate with the students so well. Amazing. Very good academicly.

Hawthorn Middle School North 5

Posted May 09, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Hawthorn Middle School North 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hawthorn Middle School North 5

Posted December 30, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Hawthorn Middle School North 3

Posted September 06, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hawthorn Middle School North 3

Posted May 19, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Hawthorn Middle School North 4

Posted May 11, 2009
- a student
First of all she cares about the students, you are wrong. The IDs can be annoying but you'd feel differently if you're kid was killed in a shooting. The word of the day quizes are not only expanding our vocabulary but they count towards a grade, they aren't hard so they help you boost your grade. The teachers here really care, the students want to do well, the staff is there for you. Its one of the safest schools in Lake County. Its a good school because our principal cares about the students and their safety and their learning. Just today she said we cant have ipods in class because its disrupting our learning. I know she wants higher test scores like every principal, but I feel like she also cares about the students. She sometimes makes me mad, but she is a good principal because she cares.

Hawthorn Middle School North 5

Posted April 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hawthorn Middle School North
201 West Hawthorn Parkway, Vernon Hills, IL  60061
(847) 990-4400
Last modified Hawthorn Middle School North is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hawthorn Middle School North Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top