Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Villa Park, IL
Students enrolled: 603
Before care: No

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Islamic Foundation School 5

Posted August 12, 2015
- a community member
By far one of the the best islamic school in the country. With an impeccable staff, warm environment, and updated surroundings, IFS really is a brilliant school. Having gone there for more than 12 years, I can tell you from experience that this school has ups and downs like all others, but nowhere can you find the family environment and diversity. The school has students of such interesting diversities, including but not limited to Middle Eastern, South Asian, East Asian, African, African American, European, and Puerto Rican. The other Islamic schools in the area are either majority Indo/Pak or majority Middle Eastern. Diversity shapes the school daily. As with the administration, they've done a phenomenal job, Mr.Omar, Ms.Fahmy, and Ms.Shariff. This school has changed a lot over the years, but it's for the better. We have teachers who really care for the students and help in any way, whether it be tutoring before school, during lunch, after school, or on the weekends. Students have gotten into Ivy Leagues but the school doesn't overly advertise it because there is more than just college acceptances that the school is there for. You come there to grow individually and spiritually with excellent Islamic programs. There is a plethora of clubs ranging from WYSE and Model UN to Drama Club and Nasheed Club. ACT scores are above average with many getting in the upper 30's and AP scores are high as well. It's a one of a kind school with truly one of a kind people.

Islamic Foundation School 1

Posted June 18, 2014
- a parent
Hope with new school chairman they will revamp the whole system and bring in qualified and ethically sound teachers who can work for all the students and not just for the board members affiliates and students who give lots of donations to the school. Teachers keep grudges against students especially the Vice Principle of middle school is a control freak and hypocrite she works for her own benefits and plays politics a relative of board member. Principle has to listen to her even if he disagrees, Children are not learning ethics or any islamic teachings, and with the quality of teachers they hired with so low salary is just horrible.Arabic teachers are not certified teachers and they differentiate with non arabic students gets verbal with them, School needs an uplift they charge for every little thing even for yearbook, other than collecting lots of school fee. They have a very updated, sophisticated, and latest system to collect the fee and donations they need to do the same towards a high quality school and teachers including Vice Principle.

Islamic Foundation School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
My oldest has been going to IFS for 5 yrs now, and my youngest for 2 years. The past two years ever since Omar Qureshi and his dedicated assistants have taken over, the school has completely changed for the better. I am very happy with how they are managing the school. I love that my kids are performing 3 grades higher on all of their standardized tests but are not overwhelmed with homework when they come home. I went to a fully packed Coffee hour with the Principal on November 21st and was very impressed by his presentation. I want to thank him and his staff for doing such an amazing job presenting all the facts in a clear and concise manner. I highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a solid foundation for their kids.

Islamic Foundation School 5

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
I am very satisfied with this school. It has much to offer, and the most of the staff is very dedicated.

Islamic Foundation School 4

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
This school year (2012-2013) has been an awesome school year for both students and parents. Our new principal, Omar Qureshi, along with his two really dedicated assistant principals, Ghada Fahmy and Saadia Shariff, have really done an outstanding job! They have implemented so many useful programs and have really worked hard on the curriculum to bring our students up to higher standards in education. We have more after school programs and tutoring that has been such an enormous help to our students. The parents too have done an incredible service to the school and have been fighting for the rights of teachers and have been there to support the staff whenever they can. This year the IFS community really felt like a big family and I really applaud the hard work, determination of each and every individual who has helped. I only see a brighter future for our school and I really do hope that the community can pull together and get that new building completed. Thank you to all of the dedicated staff, teachers and parents that have worked so hard this year! You ALL are outstanding!!

Islamic Foundation School 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
Its a great school I GIVE 5 starts to elementary because i don't no anything about middle school n high school yet

Islamic Foundation School 1

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
Islamic Foundation is falling apart. They are doing what they can to maintain their public appearance while the foundation of the school falls apart.I feel as though many of the programs offered are only added to the list for the school to promote but there is no substance. Teachers seem under qualified and unmotivated. Also, most importantly, from students to administration I feel it portrays the most unislamic behavior of the islamic schools in the area and I dont consider myself to be very conservative. I have been associated with the school for many years, but finally decided to cut ties.

Islamic Foundation School 1

Posted October 18, 2011
- a parent
The school's management is not well run. The administration talks a big game but rarely follows through. The parents who contribute more monetarily seem to have more of a say in how the school is run than the school itself. I have seen grades be overturn for these families and major ethical and behavioral violations be overlooked for children in these families. I was disappointed with the open door policy allowing students who were dismissed from other schools be allowed to enter into IFS. I paid good money for my child to attend IFS only to be surrounded by misbehaved peers and unislamic distractions. The PE program at this school is a joke. The school is over crowded and they try to cram an extremely high amount of students (50+) into an elementary school gym with not nearly enough equipment...not to mention PE teachers who do not seem to care to improve the overall health and wellness of the students. Many teachers are outdated and underqualified. The ones that are not....have heavy course loads and are unable to teach to the best of their ability......i have too much to say and not enough room. Very dissatisfied with this school and the way it is run.

Islamic Foundation School 5

Posted August 25, 2011
- a parent
IFS school is improving every year in all avenues. Management, Staff and most teachers all professionals and are very approachable to discuss any issues/questions/concerns. They are aggressively finishing the new building that will help accommodate the growing numbers of students..I believe now they have 800 students...and still growing!!!. If you are planning to get your kids admission esp in earlier grades..act early or else you will be on waiting list and will not be able to get in. School lunches (optional to sign-up) are catered from local halal restaurants daily. School doesn't provide any transportation for kids and you are on your own to pick/drop your kids. Audio/Video equip/smart boards, Computer Lab and Library all have improved a lot. Recently a great effort is made to engage parents with improved PTA. Last point with no mean to offend anyone is can send you kids to IFS for learning quran and islam..wearing hijab etc.....but if you don't yourself practice or provide the same supportive env. at home than it will be a waste of your money and time.

Islamic Foundation School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
My kids get a great education from teachers that care.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Islamic Foundation School
300 W Highridge Rd, Villa Park, IL  60181
(630) 941-8800
Last modified Islamic Foundation School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Islamic Foundation School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top