Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Wauconda, IL
Students enrolled: 1,303

2 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wauconda High School 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
If you have an honors student that doesn't need any help they will do fine. Everyone else better be prepared to run into conflicts with the teachers and administration. They don't like to have to do any work to help the students. I hope the state changes the union rules because half of the teachers will probably be let go. There not there to teach but just waiting for there pension and benefits.

Wauconda High School 1

Posted July 06, 2013
- a parent
WHS has done more harm than good with my kids They were ill prepared for college, were not taught decent skills, study habits, etc. Special needs-HORRIBLE! say 1 thing, write another- if it's not in writing it didn't happen. 1 teacher in particular is ruthless and it's her way or move 'em out of her class Freshman year. Special Ed was poorly rated for implementation from a state service that came in to "help. Teach tolerance for that rather than ship them to sedol school. Not enough is done with drugs. Zero tolerance is a joke. Especially with football and cheer. They don't enforce zero tolerance with drugs or bullying. School and police work hand in hand, but not for what's best of the student usually. They just want to "look good on paper. The school NEEDS to cut out busy work, TEACH! IMPLEMENT an across the board bullying program, including assembly high school wide to address how severe it is, more drug sweeps, and improve S.E. services that are appropriate for the child and not just the ease of the school. Superintendent is Special Ed Lake County tho. . We liked the Grade School and Middle School, and the hard working staff. Parents are outsiders unless you conform.


Wauconda High School 4

Posted April 10, 2013
- a parent
Most kids go to college from this school, with a handful going into the military and trades. The school is the center of the community and it's small semi-rural/semi-suburban setting has effectively insulated it from a lot of problems seen in other area schools. There is a good demographic mix and there does not seem to be economic pressure on the kids. It is socially a great, safe place for students to learn and make friends. Most teachers are excellent - a few need to go, but this is the case in every school. They have strong athletic and arts programming, and contrary to older reviews, they a new performing arts wing. Arts programs are well funded. My only complaints are that the English writing curriculum is very weak. I've taught my son to write at home as he was earning A grades for what I considered to be C papers. The deans suspend many kids when a simple "knock it off" or detention would do. They are strong in supporting kids in special ed, but mainstreamed kids with ADHD, dyslexia or other less serious learning issues are neglected - 504s and IEPs are not implemented unless parents are on their backs 24/7 about it. They lack insight into these disorders.

Wauconda High School 4

Posted November 18, 2010
- a parent
I have two children at Wauconda Highschool - both taking honors classes, and involved with sports. The Science department has been wonderful - the labs and experiments they do, weren't available to me back in the 80s in district 214. There are ample opportunities for the students to get involved in academic groups as well as sports. The district has a sound curiculm, and state test scores continue to rise. The leadership in the highschool needs improvement - having experienced wonderful administrators at the elementry and middle schools, the High School administration should become more client focused...this isn't the "old wauconda" anymore. Parents are involved, and expect the same level of service from the administrators that they received at the lower level schools. All being said, the school / district does a great job under the current financial hardships brought on by the state.

Wauconda High School 0
no rating

Posted May 21, 2009
- a parent
Having moved around a lot and experiencing other school districts around the country, I have to say I am very pleased with Wauconda High School, and the school district in general. My daughter is ending her Junior year and she has had a positive experience for the last 3 years. Since it is not a huge school, there are many opportunities to get involved and not have to compete against 1000 kids for everything you try out for. The teachers and administrators really get involved with the students, knowing them by name.


Wauconda High School 0
no rating

Posted March 05, 2009
- a parent
I fell this school dose not really care for the need of the kids. My child has been very ill off and on. This school has not meet her need at all. They just want to close the books on the last semester so it will be easier on the teachers. All they have done is left her in the leach. I wish i could get her in to another school she is failing at this point and they just don't care. So much for no child left behind. I am so disappointed and hurt that i can't even begin to express. I feel i really have noone to turn to. I hope to god this dose not happen to any other child.

Wauconda High School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
Although Wauconda High School has yet to raise to technological standards (such as all teachers using online homework system (which is 'required' but few teachers comply) and lack of online grades/attendance), I feel my child has been getting a quality education. Any school experience and results are the product of educators and parents and the time and care invested.

Wauconda High School 1

Posted April 12, 2008
- a parent
Beleive what you have read from most of these reviews. You can't imagine the disappointment our family had from the Wauconda school district. Long overdue are the improvements made from the referendum, now they need to continue to improve the teachers/staff in their school--almost impossible.


Wauconda High School 3

Posted November 26, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Wauconda High School 3

Posted October 01, 2007
- a student
It's not the best school but it has made many great improvements. However, there are changes that the school could've done without.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wauconda High School
555 North Main Street, Wauconda, IL  60084
(847) 526-6611
Last modified Wauconda High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Wauconda High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top