Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lake County Baptist School

Private | PK-12 | 186 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Waukegan

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $66,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 4, 2012

My son attended first grade last year and I was very impressed how well he improved coming from the North Chicago School District. His teacher Mrs. Duncan was amazing you knew that she loved every student and their uniqueness. We also enjoyed how much he was learning about God and the Bible it helped to hold our family accountable. I wish I could have continued to send him there but we were relocated because my husband is Navy. I recommend this school to anyone that is looking for a Godly learning enviroment all of the teachers are amazing. He enjoyed going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2012

All my three kids go to school here. It is a great school. The curriculum is christian based. The teachers work very hard and are also very dedicated.. Yes, they expect the parents to be involved a lot and if the parents expects the teacher to substitute their role, the parents will be disappointed. The Principal is great, I have observed that she constantly goes to each class and gives advice to the teachers. Overall an excellent school for education, diversity, and above all teaching Biblical values
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2011

My child is a new student at LCBS. From what I've seen and experienced, my child is extremely happy there. I love the small classrooms and the caring teachers. A parent wrote that the school should do more with the tuition. The tuition is extremely cheap. It takes more than $6000 to educate each child. They do it for half the price and parents are not obligated to participate in activities to make up for the cost. That means that teachers are getting paid less than public school teachers, yet providing a better education. They minister to children's spiritual and academic needs. Look at their website and see their test scores. They take the Stanford Exam and their rank in the high 80th and 90th percentile. The scores are very comparable to any private Lake Forest school, but for half the cost or more. Judge for yourself. I would also like to add that the students are polite and seriously dedicated to their education. They understand the sacrifices their parents make to provide a better education for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

As a student. I hate this school. They don't practice what they preach. Extremely biased. A waste of my parents money for sending me to this school. Academic wise it's an okay school. But the teachers are not very good. There's ak average of 6 students per grade in the high school. Not a school I recomend for anyone. Horrible. This school also has too much drama. From the kids. And teachers get way too invovled in your kids personal lives. Horrible. Horrible school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2008

i sent my three children to this school for 5 plus yrs. So I know where of I speak. This school is very legalistic. They also are very biased against certain students. I had a student they chose to harass and one who they loved. If you choose this school and they choose to love your child you are Ok to go here but if they don't choose your child get em out they are not fair in administrating justice and very possibly could hold your child responsible for things that are not theirs. In general they are very Biased. I will say i did enjoy Ms. Hird and my daughters loved her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

Lake County Baptist has a very christian based curriculum that aids a well rounded education. For parents wanting a good christian background along with an excellent education, this is the school to enroll your children. With a strong pre-k and kindergarten program this school lays the foundation for a bright future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

This school was a waste of our time and money! My children are no better off for having gone to LCBS. The academic potential is huge, however without love, compassion, spiritual leadership I am left feeling empty. I would like to see more resources for the tuition, to charge a student $.25 to use the microwave was just uncalled for. I am very displeased with the administration; it is all about the dollar with them. My children are in a new school this year and much happier with a more diverse and caring faculty. It is your children s future PRAY about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2005

This is the best decision I ever made is to send my son here! He started in pre-K, skipped kindergarten and has maintained straight A's all through 2nd grade where he is this year. The entire staff is caring and giving and understanding of each child's needs. Our experience here has been the best I could offer my child and I am deeply greatful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

I cannot say enough good things about this school. My daughter adored all the staff, including her teacher Ms. Hird. Academically it was challenging, but she was up to the challenge; the kids were guided through their difficult areas with kindness, love and compassion. The size of the school is also wonderful, everyone knows each other, and takes an interest in each other- there is a level of closeness and concern I've not found anywhere else. We have recently moved, and the first thing my daughter asked was that we find a church so she could continue to learn about the Lord and carry on her bible lessons. the early years in school are vital to shaping a childs attitude toward learning, and they were wonderful at nurturing in her a love of academic learning and joy about learning the word of God.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

This school is a major disappointment. I had to pull my child from the school, because the school officals did not practice what they were preaching. They preach honesty, love and most importantly morality. I was utterly disgusted by the behavior of the teachers and other staff. I would not recommend that ANY parent send their child to such an abomniation to the Lord.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

A wonderful school! My daughter attended first grade here and she loved it. Her teacher, Ms. Hird, was supportive and patient with my daugher and really communicated with us on her strengths, weaknessses, etc. They really focus on academics and hold the children accountable for their own actions at this school. A lot are expected out of the children at every grade level and it's so nice to see a school that has such high standards these days. Abeka and Saxon are just a couple of the great academic programs used by the school. Music, sports, library, bible and art are all part of each week in my daughters class. For parent involvment there are plenty of educational field trips, fundraisers, class parties, and each room has a 'room parent'. They even have a before and after school program. For the money, you can't get a better school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

Lake County is great school with a nice environment. The small classes helps the teacher give each child more help and attention
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

Lake County Baptist is a place where the emotional and spiritual needs of a child are met...along with the academic needs...Overall a great place to let your kids learn the important stuff!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 38% 18%
White 27% 51%
Hispanic 22% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Two or more races 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Pastor Timothy E Kowach
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS
Fax number
  • (847) 623-2085

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1550 West Yorkhouse Road
Waukegan, IL 60087
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 623-7600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Oak Crest School
Beach Park, IL



Howe Elementary School
Beach Park, IL


Kenneth Murphy School
Beach Park, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT