Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Catherine Of Siena Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 235 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Dundee

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $990.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

Cant say enough good things about the teachers and staff. We are blessed to be able to send both our children (1st and 6th) to this school. They are loved and valued.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

There are some wonderful teachers but, on the whole, I would rate St. Catherine as mediocre at best. The fourth grade teacher is caring, genuine and flexible. She shows personal interest in a child's development. Unfortunately she is a rarity. The administration is uninspiring and certainly uninvolved. The parents are active, but frequently run at odds with the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

I have two children who have graduated from St. Catherine and gone on to do very well in high school. I found St. Catherine to provide a wonderful environment for my children. They received an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

It is so sad that this school chooses to not help the students or care if they do well or not.this is lead by the principal who does not care and will not get involved.Some of the teachers are great,but too many shouldn't be teaching, and are never held accountable.Some teachers don't even teach from any books and have no lesson plan. Clearly this school doesn't practice no child left behind. There are much better schools out there do not choose this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

My child is an above average student and thank God for that or he would have learned nothing this year in Kindergarten! As he was the only child "unable to integrate", I was point blank told by the teacher that she wasn't altering her normal classroom procedure to help him adjust. What educator doesn't "waste time" with a kid having problems? I got more help for my son in a ten minute interview with the local public school principal than I did from a whole year at St. Catherine's with the principal, teacher, AND social worker telling me they wouldn't help him, take him somewhere else. So much for the notion of "least of my brothers"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

This school has only gotten worse with the new prinipal and administration. It is in desperate need of some people to change the way it teaches, disiplines, and interacts with the average student. Would not ever send my son there again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2009

I am so surprised to read the negative reviews here. All I know is that I think St. Catherine is a GREAT school. I am impressed by how nice the kids are and how involved the parents are. It's a good school academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

I agree with the previous post. The school should review the programs/services that are offered to the students and parents. The school does not offer full day kindergarten, no after-school care and no three year old day care. I have gone to several Education meetings at the school and there seems to be a disconnect between the school/church and the parents that pay the tuition to support the school. I am dissapointed that the new administration that has been in charge of the school for approximately two years now has not put in place any programs to help support students and parents. The Principal is excellent and I personally am sad to see her leave. The teacher quality receives three stars from me. Parent involvement is high at the school. Safety is a priority of all the staff over the students, but disicipline is inconsistent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

This school needs to take a look at how the public schools are changing and they need to do the same. Every child is different and every child learns differently. No matter how much St. Catherine's wants to be a 'prep/honors' school it won't happen unless they decide to let enrollment go even further down (and it already has gone way down) and only keep their honor students! But good luck keeping the school alive if that happens. Administration is sorely lacking and for the one person that mentions no anger seen.....its there and very visable!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

As the parent of a St. C's student, I am stunned to read these reviews here. I have found the teachers, staff and academics to be very high quality and definitely reflective of strong Christian values. While I understand that some parents may have issues with any school, I found myself wondering if these parents were attending a completely different school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

I must say as the parent of an average student, I am very happy with the treatment and help my child receives at St. Catherine of Siena. I am at the school very often as a volunteer and have not witnessed any 'anger' on the part of the teachers or the administration. As with any school or organization, I have seen some students who can push the limits of anyones patience and parents who turn a blind eye to it. I am sure the school has made mistakes in how it handles some things but overall they do a wonderful job. I believe the teachers genuinely care about the students and provide an excellent faith based education. I would recommend this school to anyone and everyone with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

The academics are excellent, as in the majority of the staff. There are times when I don't always agree w/ the administrator, but she is top notch on safety, dedication and hard work. It is a great value for the money. There are too many parent/teachers in the program and it is true that a select few have a lot of influence. The fun meter has been reduced to nearly zero with the elimination of many school recesses and fun learning time (i.e. field trips, outdoor activities, etc.).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

For a 'Catholic' school it does not practice what it preaches. School seems to run by chosen parents of the 'perfect' child syndrome. Only thing going for this school is their academics exceed that of local district schools in the area, Truly lacks the basis of Christian values!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2004

The principal and staff are very dedicated and present a challenging curriculum. They are focused on the children. Spiritual development is strong and encouraged. School achieves great results when parents are dedicated to all aspects of parenting. Like most all educational environments, results are somewhat dependant on what the parents and students are willing to put into it. The opportunity to succeed is present for all. It's true that there is a loud vocal minority present but I suspect this is common in most elementary schools. They are given their chance to express their opinions, of which there are many, but they do not influence policy. Have seen many successfull well-adjusted well-prepared graduates every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

Parents run the school, the principal does not have control of things. The curriculm is fine for the average student but not enough for the above average student. Teaching needs to be brought up to date, more hands on learning. Public schools in area are in a state of chaos with finances and overcrowding which gives St. Catherine's a waiting list.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 51%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 0%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black 3% 18%
Hispanic 1% 24%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Renee Link
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockford
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

845 West Main Street
West Dundee, IL 60118
Phone: (847) 426-4808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Parkview Elementary School
Carpentersville, IL


Carpentersville Middle School
Carpentersville, IL


Immanuel Lutheran School
East Dundee, IL




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT