Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Westchester, IL
Students enrolled: 404
 

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Westchester Middle School 5

Posted March 05, 2015
- a parent
Teachers really care about teaching. Great communication between teachers and parents. Teachers email parents about upcoming assignments and tests. Very good kids. My daughter made the high honor roll.

Westchester Middle School 5

Posted April 05, 2014
- a community member
WMS is an outstanding school! There are no bullies and students are very friendly. Teachers here are very helpful and caring. I love the way how they treat the children here.


Westchester Middle School 5

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
This is the best school ever and previous comments are wrong my son is in 8th grade and his grades improved when he got to this school and also my son is so happy to wake up in the morning and go to school were the teachers are very nice but can be very harsh when needed to not only that but there are no bullies according to my son and he has a lot of friends there.

Westchester Middle School 3

Posted June 02, 2010
- a parent
Having had a very negative experience at Westchester Intermediate School, we were suprised that the Middle school isn't too bad. We had a minor racial comment by one of the teachers assuming that everyone with a Hispanic last name should know how to speak Spanish. I am concerned that the middle school format holds the kids hands a bit too much and will not prepare them for high school (verses junior high format). Also the registration fees at this district are high and the board approved another raise in the fees for this Fall. A waiver is available, but you might make too much money to qualify, even if your on unemployment. Call the district office for the chart they use. It has to do with the same guidelines they use for the free lunch program.

Westchester Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
WMS has a great administration that is progressive in thinking, teachers who truly care, and parents who support the community.


Westchester Middle School 3

Posted November 08, 2008
- a parent
I have a child that attend the school. In my opinion Westchester Middle School has some racial barriers that the administrative staff and some teachers need to hurdle over. The school does not have a diverse teaching team. The school administrative staff which would include the teachers are not culturally sensitive. The school does not have a friendly open door policy toward parents wanting to stop by for a visit. I can see why the school rate a 5 out of 10. In my opinion the principal does not set the learning standards very high.

Westchester Middle School 3

Posted September 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Westchester Middle School 4

Posted August 14, 2008
- a parent
I have two children who are currently attending WMS daughter enter 8th grade & a son entering the 7th grade in two weeks. Coming from CPS schools (Humboldt Park) , Bellwood Lincoln elementary school. Although registration fees are quite healthy, it's well worth it annual trips (6th Camp TimerLee 3day camping outing. 7th graders 1 day Springfield, IL. 8th graduation trip Wahington, DC for 1 week). All of that in a nut shell, WMS really speaks for itself. I've seen a huge difference in my childrens grades, study habits, involvement with school activities & much more. Teachers are very helpful, realiable and resourceful.


Westchester Middle School 3

Posted July 10, 2008
- a student
i used to be a student at this school and it's not to good of a school. The Teachers don't focus on the students.

Westchester Middle School 0
no rating

Posted July 03, 2008
- a parent
Great school and teachers. My daughter loves this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westchester Middle School
1620 Norfolk Avenue, Westchester, IL  60154
(708) 450-2735
Last modified Westchester Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westchester Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top