Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. John of the Cross

Private | PK-8 | 649 students

Best known for being a faith based school committed to academic excellence.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Western Springs

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $420,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

As a parent of SJC and my husband who is an alumni we cannot say enough positive about our children's experience at SJC. We recently had our oldest child graduate from 8th grade she started going to SJC since 4yr. old pre-school. My children are all different types of students. Some struggle with learning while others have it "easy". St. John's has accommodated and helped my children succeed at all levels. The teachers work closely with each other to provide a team effort in helping children succeed where they may be deficient and excell when learning comes easy. It is a unique environment where parents come together with teachers to help our school thrive! We cannot be more fortunate to have our children attend SJC! The school spirit and the faith filled curriculum make me proud as a parent that we have made a great decision to choose St. John's!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2013

St. John of the Cross Parish School fosters positive behavior, academic excellence, and a solid faith foundation. The teachers not only have a firm knowledge of their subject matter, but they are caring individuals who look at each child as an individual and tailor their daily lessons to meet the needs of the students. The parents provide a strong support system to the teachers and staff as they all have chosen St. John's for the same reason, a solid faith based education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

St John of the Cross is a terrific school. The school does an outstanding job integrating strong values and religious education into a superb academic curriciculum. SJC has excellent teachers and strong leadership, an active parent association, an engaged board and a close faith community. We are particularly pleased with the focus on the strong core value of respect and the strong connection to our faith. We had a tough choice to make between SJC and the Hinsdale schools. Either choice would have been good. SJC has exceeded our expectations and we are happy with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

I have found St. John of the Cross to be such a welcoming place where it is easy to get involved if you are a working parent or stay at home parent. My three children are very happy to go to school everyday and excited to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

I can't say enough about our experience at St. John of the Cross. We transferred from another local catholic school in 2008 looking for a larger population and a school that was able to educate all types of learners. We definitely found what we were looking for at St. Johns. On top of the excellent teachers, we have wonderful core teachers and aids that help give our students extra help or more challenging work depending on their needs. The teachers go above and beyond to make sure every student excels and is challenged. At the time it was a very difficult decision for our family to make. We are both thrilled and grateful for our experiences at St. Johns. It is truly a "Blue Ribbon" school and we are so fortunate to be part of this faith filled community...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

A great "Blue Ribbon" school where students don't only learn their faith, but live it as well! My former SJC students (my daughters) had a wonderful educational base from SJC and are now a successful music teacher and civlil engineer. We love SJC!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2012

My husband and I are fortunate to live in a fabulous public school district, however we both come from Catholic education experience. When it was time to send our oldest to school, we struggled with the decision between public v. private schools. The struggle immediatiely ended when we toured SJC. We found the school to be a welcoming community full of character and values that we wanted to instill in our children. Coincidentally, I am an alumna of SJC and it was encouraging to see so many familiar faces still involved at school either as administration, staff or fellow parents! SJC offers a challenging curriculum with an understanding an nurturing faculty that teach for the subject, not for the test. We have one child that struggles academically and the faculty and adminstration have worked with us to identify specific academic goals and some compromises that make our child feel successful. SJC really does educate the whole child, inside and out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

We moved here in 2008 from Arizona and were thrilled with the choices - so many great public and Catholic schools that impressed us, it made it hard to pick one. Now, I am thrilled again - thrilled that we did choose St. John's. The warmth of the families, the quality of the teachers, the rigor of the curriculum and the generosity of the parish have made our children feel welcome, valued, and challenged to be better students and citizens. And now it's a blue ribbon school to boot! SJC is definitely worth the investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

St John of the Cross has been a great place to raise our young children and educate them in a faith based environment. We are constantly amazed by the loving community of parents, faculty, staff and students that create a warm yet challenging academic setting for our families foundational years. We recommend St John of the Cross highly to anyone considering it for their family. You will be welcomed and loved yet push to reach your highest potential. A great combination for the grade school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

I think SJC does a tremendous job balancing education and faith. There are sports, band clubs (Science, math speech etc) to join. There is a play at the end of the school year. An overall wondreful experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

SJC balances the spiritual, emotional and education needs of its students to create confident Christian leaders. They offer extracurricular activities that range from sports to service and reinforce the ideal that we are part of a greater, spiritual world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2003

If you are looking for aan outstanding balance of education and a strong Catholic environment, I would have to say SJC is the palce to send your children. The children are well prepared for High School and the staff has much concern for the children's well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 51%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Hispanic 2% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • 2012 National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:50 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Kathleen Gorman
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • No
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Benet Academy
Fenwick Academy
St. Ignatius College Prep
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

708 51st St
Western Springs, IL 60558
Website: Click here
Phone: (708) 246-4454

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Forest Hills Elementary School
Western Springs, IL



Highlands Elementary School
La Grange Highlands, IL


Field Park Elementary School
Western Springs, IL


Highlands Middle School
La Grange Highlands, IL


Mcclure Jr High School
Western Springs, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT