Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Briar Glen Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 21, 2016
- a community member
Top of the line very caring and compassionate. Will do everything in their power to make sure that your child is successful.

Briar Glen Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 21, 2016
- a community member
Only thing I do believe that school is school and home is home. When our children come home they should have family time. Not have to do homework they should be relaxing with the family. School has them for enough hours a day I want my time with my children


Briar Glen Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a community member
They have the children ready with no fear to go to their next level of education when they go off and enter Glen Crest

Briar Glen Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a community member
They take the time out to explain the wrongs a student does and they reward the rights the students do

Briar Glen Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a community member
They keep the old fashioned values up unlike many of the other schools in the area


Briar Glen Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 21, 2016
- a community member
One of the few schools that has caring and loving teachers who want to be there and who love their students

Briar Glen Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2016
- a community member
I went to this school when I was young and it was the top school then and it is now. Unfortunately I live in district 200 so my four kids don't get the joys of going here. I must say I had great teachers. I even learned sign language when I was in 4th grade there that came in handy when I worked in the ER so I could help this young girl. All my teachers were the best and the principal now was a teacher when I was there. Mom's teach your kids to be tidy now so the desks stay clean and believe me they carry that with them a long way. The teachers here really care and for some strange reason this is rare these days many just do their jobs and forgot about the love of teaching and why they wanted to become a teacher well these teachers didn't. They truly love our kids and even when I went there nothing has changed they hire the finest teachers.

Briar Glen Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
Totally disagree with the last post! The administration that was put in place 3 years ago is fantastic. The teachers are excited and very positive. You can feel the excitement and energy at school events. I participate in the Dad's of Great Students Program (Watch D.O.G.S) where Dad's volunteer for either a half or full day at the school rotating between classrooms to.provide assistance with lessons, so I see and feel the energy first hand. Could not be happier with our experience. 2 kids there now - 2nd and 5th grader. Parents are down to earth too. Love the principal.


Briar Glen Elementary School 1

Posted March 04, 2014
- a parent
Be very careful before sending your child to this school. The other 2 reviews were written prior to administration changes. There are other District 89 schools with better leadership in the area that honor open enrollment.

Briar Glen Elementary School 5

Posted February 03, 2006
- a parent
I have to add my positive review of Briar Glen. It is a wonderful learning environment. The administration and teachers are great. The thing that especially surprised me was the feeling of 'family' among everyone involved with Briar Glen. The programming infused with Briar Glen's imperatives of be safe, respect, and responsible creates a great environment. The opportunities for meaningful family involvement are plentiful. We feel so fortunate to have Briar Glen in our community!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Briar Glen Elementary School
1800 Briarcliffe Boulevard, Wheaton, IL  60189
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. (630) 545-3300
Last modified Briar Glen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top