Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Edison Middle School 5

Posted June 07, 2016
- a community member
Edison has a very supportive environment, and encourages all students to try new extra-curricular activities, to stretch themselves academically, and to give back to the community.

Edison Middle School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
The principal and vice principal without them the school wouldn't run as smoothly as it does. You know from the look in their eyes that they care about the children. A child can stop them when they are rushing and they don't care they stop and listen to that child and they don't rush the child or anything. They let our children know that they're important and that they matter. I love and miss having my kids in this school. Two more years and my twins will be in there!!


Edison Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
The teachers are so caring and they treat our children like family and they truly care that our children succeed and they will help in anyway they can.

Edison Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
Sometimes to much but otherwise just enough. They get them ready for what they will get in high school

Edison Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
They set our children up for success and give them the important tools that they need


Edison Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
They teach the students to help each other out and to treat each other how they want to be treated

Edison Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
They love their students. The principal or vice principal are even at the sporting events to cheer the children on!

Edison Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
They truly care and will do all that they can to help your child be successful


Edison Middle School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
I've had so far two children who have gone through Edison and they loved school all they way through 8th grade! Sometimes that's so hard to keep a child liking school after 6th grade! But not at this school. Their staff is wonderful they have the best principal ever she is so caring and the students know that she cares honestly about them so does their vice principal. These two make a great team! They know how to deal with our children in so many ways and in ways where our children feel comfortable to go to them about anything and everything. Their parents contact is amazing and how they just know every students name and their parents floors me. The teaching staff goes right along with them they are just as wonderful. I can't wait for my other two children to go to Edison! I knew my children were in good hands at this school. The only thing that they would need to work on is getting the 8th graders ready to go into high school. My one daughter who is going to be a junior next year had the shock of her life with the change. Even though her older sister and us her parents tried to tell her about the classroom changes and about high school it seemed like the biggest thing the schools wanted the children to know about was the huge drug problem. So my daughter went from high honor roll and loving school to hating school and horrible grades that are unacceptable to us her parents. As well as her coaches but she is trying to work on it and still trying to get the hang of the whole high school thing. Other than that little issue this school does above and beyond in every way. The teacher care so much about the children the sports the school offers are amazing and I just wish they started in 6th grade as well but I do get that we need to let the children get use to being in junior high before we introduce sports into their school year as well. Then when they are in sports the coaches involve the parents in everything and the parents do bake sales ect to help out their child's team. I can't say enough good about this school!

Edison Middle School 2

Posted June 08, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are great. This rating is a reflection of district and school policies. They have managed to squash all academic interests of my daughter though cancellation of electives (French as her foreign language elective) and exclusion of other class offerings. District focus only on the top students (PACE) and students needing academic support. If your child is in the regular classes they are invisible to the district. No interest in their academic achievement. Supports and challenges There is onlIf the student is not in the top or bottom The dis tilt main

Nearby schools

Edison Middle School
1125 South Wheaton Ave, Wheaton, IL  60189
(630) 682-2050
Last modified Edison Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top