Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Madison Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
The teaching staff I strongly agree but not with the principal nor the district then I would have to strongly disagree

Madison Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Because the principal isn't fair with the students he only listens to those who are on the PTA and only helps those who are on the PTA. We have had some major issues and neither him nor the district helped in the matters and we as parents were left feeling helpless and alone as so we're our children.


Madison Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
Best teaching staff of most of the schools I've seen. However the principal is horrible he picks what children he will support and what ones he will not. Then if something happens to one that he doesn't support by one he happens to support nothing will get done and he will make it so district as well won't listen to you. Before this principal got here the school ran very well and parents loved the school and how it was ran. Sense this man took over the school it's gone nothing but down hill. The school has the best teaching staff and can be one of the best schools in the district if only it has someone else running it. If it stays being ran by Tim Callahan then it's just going to keep going down hill. Once he would be gone and then a total overhaul of the district 200 staff so that they would understand that the parents are the ones who matter who are the ones that keep the schools running smooth and when we need them they need to be there. Then the whole school system will run so much easier. Once they realize that you don't have to be in the PTA to care about your children's schooling that will be a huge help due to the reasons some parents have children in each one of the districts schools elementary, middle, and high school as to where you can't just do something for only one of your children's schools without the other children feeling left out. At Madison there is a huge difference in treatment of you and your children by The principal if you're on the PTA or not. If you are then your child seems to get away with doing harm to other children without any punishment and it can be even the same child while you the parent feel helpless and the school will turn a blind eye. But if you're on the PTA they will hear you out and even if your child is the one hurting others they will find a way to blame the other children. They almost act as a colt. The teachers have zero part in this activity. But if the school had someone else running it things would change for the better. The principal is the problem.

Madison Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a community member
My son is in all-day Kindergarten at Madison, and his teacher, Mrs. Bailey is THE BEST! She seems to genuinely love her kids (and her school), and does a fantastic job inspiring a love of learning! I have gotten a great vibe and sense of enthusiasm from all of the other staff at Madison as well, and am so proud to have my son in such a wonderful school :)

Madison Elementary School 3

Posted March 14, 2011
- a parent
Although Wheaton is a great school district, they are greatly lacking special needs classes. My 5 year old son is severely autistic and was placed with children who are way more advanced than him, in Madison school. He gets homework that he can't even complete. How can a child read and make sounds if he can't even speak. I feel that Wheaton concentrates so much on being the best in the state that they forget about the mentally challenged, cramming the few that they have in one classroom and when I suggested he go to a private school that concentrates on autism, they were very snotty and pretty much laughed in my face. I feel they just didn't want to pay. My advice to Madison and the whole Wheaton school district, open your minds to special needs children, especially autism because the cases are growing in numbers every year. These children need all day classes and many different levels of therapy. If you can't provide it, send them to a school district that can. It's not about the money, it's about that specific child's need! And NEVER suggest that you change an autistic child's schedule! Sorry but not all children are born perfect and are capable of making district 200 look good!!


Madison Elementary School 5

Posted January 14, 2011
- a parent
All of my children are attending Madison, and they love the teachers and staff. The teachers are attentive to the students, and really want them to do well. The leadership of the school is very good, and they have a clear path on how to improve the experience for all the students at Madison.

Madison Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
It has a diverse population of students. The teachers and staff are like a little family and the students are their children. They really go above and beyond for the kids and truly enjoy their jobs. From the janitor to the Principal they keep the school running so smoothly.

Madison Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
Excellent early education for all three of my children.


Madison Elementary School 5

Posted October 19, 2006
- a parent
I have had children at Madison for 7 yrs. now and love it! This is a dedicated, hardworking bunch of educators from the top down. Madison also happens to be a wonderfully diverse school. There is also a very high level of parent involvement.

Madison Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2005
- a parent
Madison is a great school! Madison is lucky enough to have a wonderful principal like Mr. Sikorski and teachers who work hard and care! My son loves school and feels safe and is excelling wonderfully. My son is getting a great education and has lots of friends and respects and loves his teachers. Kudos to Madison's teachers, principal, and wonderful and always helpful office staff!! Mrs. Elkhatib ( a satisfied mother)

Nearby schools

Madison Elementary School
1620 Mayo Ave, Wheaton, IL  60189
(630) 682-2095
Last modified Madison Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top