Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wheaton North High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2013

It's only later in life that you appreciate your education. Because I graduated from a school like Wheaton North doors opened for me. The town and school has a great reputation and with it comes the expectation that you do well. I was well prepared for college, and being from Wheaton and graduating from Wheaton North helped me get jobs in my profession. Geat school.


Posted September 6, 2012

Poor school. Teachers show favoritism beyond anything I've ever seen. Very communistic...kids are chosen for awards by other kids rather than by accomplishments, leading to one popularity contest after another. Even at the graduation ceremony, the valedictorian wasn't even acknowledged...the speaker was chosen by the class. Ridiculous. Teachers assign tons of "busy" work (my child routinely had 3 hours of homework a night) , so some of the parents are fooled into thinking the kids are learning a lot. Not the case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

One of the best high schools in the state of Illinois. Tremendous school and community spirit and pride, strong leadership, very quality and highly trained staff, wonderful arts, music and sports programs. North has had profound and positive impact on my daughter's development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

My son attended WHNS graduating 2008. He did not have behavior problems and while the school has its problems with drug and gangs like any other public school, I feel he received n education that adequately prepared him for college. He will be a graduate of BIOLA UNIV. Class of '12 and plans to pursue a career in education. Become intvolved in their child's education and encourge them to particicate in sports and clubs. It's not the schools responsibility to know and monitor students. Parental involvement can make a huge difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

i attend WNHS from 2001 till 2005 and my sister before me was 1997-2002. the teachers were great, harsh but great. if you were interested in getting a passing grade they helped but if you told them that you didn't care and youd didn't want their help they would respect that. its not the teachers who fail the students. they fail them selves. WNHS is great and i hope to send my kids there if we arer still living in the area when they are of age.


Posted January 13, 2011

My daughter tattends WNHS after leaving Monroe in Wheaton, we are originally from CPS. I feel th eonly waya child will receive a good education and caring atmosphere at this school is if that student does not have any behaivor issues at all. If your child has behavior issues he/she will be black balled and thrown into Special Ed with the attitude that if he he/she is accused of anything he/she most definitely did it and we be given weekend detentions ergardless of the situation and be careful of weekned detentions your children may not be supervised by an adult. In 2009 I went to pick my daughter up and she was roaming the halls aith all the other kids that were assigend weekend detention. WNHS's answer was the teachers got their schedules mixed up and 1 thought the other 1 would be supervising-this could have led to disaster considering there were unsupervised teenagers left to roam around the school. WNHS shows troubled teens that you are here only because the law says you have to be so shut up and go to detention!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

It's really not a bad school. I have gone there for the past four years and I haven't had many problems. Most of the teachers are supportive and encouraging but only if you want to succeed. I have not found that many teachers pick favorites. School spirit could be increased, but that's about it. It's a high school, so you can't expect anything too out of the ordinary, but I have definitely enjoyed my last four years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2010

This school is cruel. The teachers don't seem to care if their students are failing even when they ask for help. They have a bias opinion on which students get what grades. Several of my teachers pick a choose favorites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2009

Wheaton North has evolved into a Best of Class High School Educational environment. Education is prioritized on a campus which has state-of-the-art indoor and outdoor training and varsity programs. AP courses abound, with credentialed teachers. My own daughter entered college with 20 college credits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

We moved from another suburb and enrolled my 4 children at WNHS . My kids who are now all professionals had gotten an excellent eduacation and made many friendships. Yes maybe there were one or two teachers that were mentioned as being not likable. but they were prepared for the world and all are doing well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

This is a wonderful school. My son received a whole year of college credit at the University of Illinois thanks to Wheaton North. The extracurricular activities are amazing. There truly is something for everyone at theis school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

I graduated from WN a few years ago and I believe that the teachers did a great job preparing me for college. I feel like I have a better grasp of the basics than most of the students at my university (GW). It also helps that they offer a wide range of AP classes. Bravo, WN!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2008

I go to this school and I think that it is really great! All the teachers are good, besides 3 or 4 out of a lot. It was also one of the top 500 schools in the country out of 18,000 some schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2004

I have 2 kids who attended Wheaton North in the past and both my kids and I believe this institution has some of the worst teachers.The teachers are strictly professional and modest, yet their discipline coaches are terrible!!The deans as well as some teachers end up abusing their privileges and only hurting students and families. If only some parents saw the types of actions deans take at this school!Next time your child complains about punishment by deans-it most likely is even worse! Do not allow deans at Wheaton North to abuse your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2004

This school did not take the time to help troubled kids. They would discipline kids without knowing or taking the time to know their backrounds at home. Some children just needed that little extra care but because they were considered 'bad' they were never helped. All the kids that did all those extra activities where given special privleges.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 9, 2003

We have our third and last child now at this school; we think it is a great public school, with caring teachers and staff and alot of parent involvement. It has lots of course choices and many extracurricular activity choices. We don't think public schools get any better than this one in our town.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female72%
Male77%
Black22%
Asian33%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial87%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Low income35%
Not low income86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)32%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
Black32%
Asian38%
Hispanic44%
Multiracial93%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Low income34%
Not low income85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)30%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students73%
Female71%
Male76%
Black30%
Asian41%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial87%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Low income35%
Not low income84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)26%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learners4%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

24

Graduation rate

92.8%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 51%
Hispanic 10% 24%
Black 7% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Falcon Way
Wheaton, IL 60187
Phone: (630) 784-7300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Dupage Alop
Wheaton, IL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT