Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Eugene Field Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
LaVonne Knapstein, the principal has been instrumental in the success of this school. She has dedicated countless hours for the good of the staff, parents and students. She will be missed. Thank you, LaVonne.

Eugene Field Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
Every child is cared for at this elementary school. The whole staff from the custodians to the principal care and mentor these children.


Eugene Field Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
Currently, the school is piloting a winging wings program that develops responsibility, respect and willingness to learn for each student.

Eugene Field Elementary School 5

Posted February 18, 2016
- a parent
Eugene Field Elementary is an excellent school. The teachers are dedicated and passionate about every child. I would send my children to learn here without hesitation.

Eugene Field Elementary School 1

Posted August 12, 2015
- a parent
Before my child went this school she was at a different school and was a good student. When my child went to this school she had no homework and started to fail school. Due to the lack of help from the teacher she ended up being behind in middle school compared to other kids that came from other schools. The only thing they did there is have fun.


Eugene Field Elementary School 1

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
This school is beyond a joke...if I could leave it with zero stars I would! The staff, with the exception of a handful of teachers act like they are there because they have nothing better to do and the Administration...just leaves you speechless. This school could improve by giving 90% of the staff a refresh.

Eugene Field Elementary School 1

Posted August 27, 2010
- a parent
This school is a joke. The principal is horrible. She talks about parents to other parents and she caters to a certain student body. Parents are pulling their children out of this school every month due to the lack of education taught by lazy, rude teachers who again cater to a certain student body over another. Please take your child to another school where he/she will receive a great education, not be bullied and will not be targeted by teachers and staff.

Eugene Field Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2009
- a parent
This is a lovely school with excellent academic and extracurricular activities. The teachers are top notch and in my opinion this is one of the best schools in Wheeling...with Tarkington a close second.


Eugene Field Elementary School 1

Posted October 06, 2008
- a parent
2 years later, my opinion of the school has changed greatly! Instead of teaching to every child's needs, the school has become focused on the bilingual. My english speaking, american born children have suffered greatly. To the point where I have removed them from the school and placed them somewhere where I know they will get the education they so rightly deserve ( at a major cost to my pocket book), as much as the bilingual children. The principal has also lost sight of the big picture and is instead worried about her friendships with certain parents.

Eugene Field Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2007
- a parent
The principle of this school is useless. She was NEVER able to assist in any problems we encountered. Her most famous line for three years now is 'I FORGOT'. Not acceptable. The teachers at this school need to worry LESS about the classroom size (last year 22 students and the year before 23 students)and more about the cirriculum. yet I am forced to send my precious son back to that horrible place until my house sells. The only advice I have is DO NOT MOVE TO WHEELING IF YOU FEEL YOUR CHILD'S EDUCATION IS IMPORTANT. There are several good schools quite nearby.... Good Luck!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Eugene Field Elementary School
51 Saint Armand Lane, Wheeling, IL  60090
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (847) 520-2780
Last modified Eugene Field Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top