Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Wilmette, IL
Students enrolled: 2,072
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Loyola Academy 1

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
This school is more than happy to take the now near $75,000 from families for four years of an average education which can be comparably found at many good public schools. They seem to emphasize and celebrate their athletes, and even with poor/average grades those are the students that are accepted to their choice colleges. Our daughter was a Loyola Scholar every single semester, with a 3.98 GPA and completed all honors/AP classes. She applied to 10 colleges with the advice of her college counselor and was accepted in only her bottom two choices. It was as though none of her achievements were even recognized. I had close friends who graduated from Loyola Academy many years ago when it was very different. This school is now operated as a business, money-making machine. It's all about their image on the outside, while the inside behind closed doors are well protected little secrets such as this harsh truth. My advice to families considering this school is to consider elsewhere, there simply are plenty of better options for your children's futures. We only wish we knew then what we know now!!!

Loyola Academy 3

Posted December 07, 2014
- a parent
Fine school, terrible leadership. Administration cares only about giving honors diplomas to every student to make the school seem better than it is. The school has great teachers and sharp students, but no school's honors program should take themselves seriously if they have 80% of the graduating class earning an honors diploma. Loyola is all about how much a parent can complain, so the school gives them what they want. The last thing Loyola would want is to have their scores compared to the public schools around it...
2 people found this helpful


Loyola Academy 5

Posted March 23, 2014
- a community member
Loyola Academy is one of the best schools in the state. Loyola puts emphasis on being a good person as well as excelling academically. Loyola shapes its students into wonderful well rounded people ready for college. I do not know someone I don't like at the school. Loyola has a great educational foundation and has great teachers and great resources. Loyola has an aura around it like no other. All are welcome at this great school. If you are even considering it, go to Loyola because it will be the best decision you will make.
1 person found this helpful

Loyola Academy 1

Posted February 15, 2014
- a parent
Prejudiced foundation. Nothing more to be said. Minority students stay away - see if you can find more than one visible minority teacher!
1 person found this helpful

Loyola Academy 5

Posted August 02, 2013
- a community member
Terrific. Only the best need apply here. Top school in the state all around. The only complaints are from those that are not good enough to succeed here.


Loyola Academy 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a parent
My child is a freshman so it may be a little early to write a review but for now my family and I couldn't be happier. She is in a mix of honors and regular classes and we have found the teachers and administration to be excellent. There are may opportunities to excel or to get help depending on the needs of the child.

Loyola Academy 1

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
This school is focused on one thing & one thing only athletics, if your child struggles academically & is not an allstar athlete they could care less & show them the door mid year. But if they are an athlete then they come up with a plan & protect them. Beyond disappointed in the admins at Loyola, they could care less on the impact of their actions on struggling students future unless they are an all star athlete.
1 person found this helpful

Loyola Academy 5

Posted July 12, 2012
- a parent
Loyola Academy is an incredibly competitive Jesuit/Roman Catholic preparatory school. Only about 50% of the prospective students who take Loyola's entrance exam are admitted to the freshman class. Loyola Academy has an excellent honors and advanced placement programs as well as the Dumbach scholars program and the Clavius scholars program. Loyola's athletic and extra curricular programs are second to none in Illinois.


Loyola Academy 2

Posted November 11, 2010
- a student
Academically, the school is quite good. I took Ancient Greek (and loved it), excelled academically, went to a good college, etc. However, I would not recommend this school to anyone. They allow extensive and extreme bullying to continue unheeded. And, while most teachers are quite good, the school never, ever fires teachers that have been there for years, even if these teachers are abysmal.

Loyola Academy 5

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
My son is a sophomore at Loyola and I truly believe that the school is setting him in the right path to succeed in college. Three of my husband's cousins have attended Loyola academy, one will be finishing medical school next year, the other works in the financial sector and the other is an accountant. The teachers communicate to you any concerns that they may have for your children and they really push the kids to achieve all that they can; you know where my other 4 children will attend. Go Ramblers!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Loyola Academy
1100 Laramie Avenue, Wilmette, IL  60091
(847) 256-1100
Last modified Loyola Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Loyola Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top