Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John The Baptist School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Winfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $243,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,070.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

St. John the Baptist, Winfield. Our grandson is entering first grade this year. This will be his fifth year. Impressive is the word I would use for the school community. I see orderly, intelligent and caring students and teachers every time we visit and that is quite often. My grandson shows energy, respect, a true interest in learning and enthusiasm for his religion. He is typical of the student body at this school. We live over two hours away and wish we could visit more. St Johns has our support and gratitude.


Posted June 17, 2014

I had two kids in pre-k at St John and their teacher was phenomenal. She and many other teachers created a culture that fostered learning, taught kids good values, and left them excited to learn more. However, many parents are not involved and the ones that are just seem to want to complain about everything. In addition, there has been high teacher turnover as of late and too much drama and turmoil within the parish and school. We ve decided we are going to pull our kids out and give public school a chance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2013

The best education around with the right price. Respectful students with involved parents. You don't find that combination these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2010

GREEEEAAAT SCHOOL!!! awesome socializing skills, classes& friends...and the athletics progam-amazing. the 8th grade '10-'11 girls bball team is undefeated so faar!! just GREAT experiences at this school....


Posted May 19, 2009

My family is very happy at St. John's. The teachers are excellent--nearly all have advanced degrees. The class sizes are smaller and my child gets plenty of individual attention and encouragement from the entire staff. The principal and other administrative staff constantly seek ways to improve the educational experience of the students. I highly recommend St. John's to anyone interested in their child receiving a Catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

St. John s provides an atmosphere for my children that is both academically challenging and emotionally supportive. The teachers and administrators are caring and passionate about the students, and the other families create an excellent sense of community. I am so very pleased with my choice to send my children to St. John s, and I would recommend it to any family who wants their children to receive a superb Catholic education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I love St. John's. My kids seem to be more academically and socially sound then their friends that go to different schools. I am constantly shocked by how much my children learn daily. They also show a christian attitude that is noticed by other adults. Since they show good problem solving and conflict resolution skills they have many friends and play dates. I thank St. John's staff and administration for contributing to my children's successes. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

My family loves St. John's. There is a true community spirit that is felt in the school and at all activities. The teacehrs are wonderful, truly giving of thier time to all students. I have had chidlren graduate from St. John's and they all succeeded well beyond their peers. Our students receive a great education based in faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

I have had all three of my children graduate from St. John's. There is a great sense of community. Academics are outstanding as well as test scores. Great athletic program as well as extracurricular activities for all. Tremendous faith-based education that will benefit them throughout their entire lives. Hope to see my grandchildren attend St. JOhn's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2009

St. John's is strong academically and there is a wonderful sense of family. I brought my children to St. John's from the public school for junior high-one in 7th and the other in 8th. They were quickly accepted and made friends for life. My biggest regret was not knowing about St. John's and starting them in school here, so they would have 'belonged' to this family earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2009

I would personally not recommend this school to anyone in grades 3+. The classes are small, the teachers and parents are univolved, and they have bad socializing skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2008

Bad socializing skills; small classes; not many 'good', Catholic students.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 51%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 24%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Julie A Tobin
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Joliet
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

0s259 Church St
Winfield, IL 60190
Phone: (630) 668-2625

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT