Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Greeley Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
The environment at Greeley is fantastic! The staff is nurturing and helps children develop an enthusiasm for learning. The resources available to the kids are tremendous. In spite of the critics out there, I believe the school is a wonderful launching pad for young children.

Greeley Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2014
- a parent
We love everything about Greeley! Starting with the principle who always has an open door, the creative teachers who listen to your child's needs. The administrative staff, the resource center and their programs. I have my 2nd kid going through Greeley and I never had to hear," I don't want to go to school"


Greeley Elementary School 1

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
Do your research and don't be fooled by the (outdated) propaganda the school gives you. Test scores are falling, budgets have been compromised in areas that are core to Greeley's values, and the State's Common Core requirements run converse to progressive educational ideals. There is a lot of parent discontent in the community and little leadership to address it. There are some excellent teachers in the mix at Greeley, but it is a leadership problem at the school and district.

Greeley Elementary School 5

Posted October 31, 2013
- a parent
At Greeley students learn how to learn. They go to school with a smile every morning ready to learn about a "theme", where they how to investigate, also applied math, geometry, writing, reading, art, etc. in a holistic way. Excellent school.

Greeley Elementary School 1

Posted August 19, 2013
- a parent
People think they are purchasing an expensive home in Winnetka and getting great education. They are wrong! Greeley is not a good school at all.


Greeley Elementary School 5

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
I am not easy to please and we have been overjoyed by the experience our child has had at Greeley. We have lived in other similar areas and had other children attend similar schools, but Greeley has won our hearts! The teachers we have had will always be on our list of all time favorites and the Principal is top notch. She sets a tone of professionalism and has very high expectations for herself, the teachers and the students. Each time you enter the building you feel the joy. The class sizes are perfect.

Greeley Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2010
- a parent
As a parent I love this school. From the principal on down. My children are happy and learning.

Greeley Elementary School 1

Posted January 03, 2009
- a student
As a former pupil of Greeley and now a parent myself, I would tell any parent that test scores are not everything. Bullying was and still is a problem and the leadership have always cared more about test scores than pupil development. The children are often stressed, tired and just plain overworked.


Greeley Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2008
- a teacher
This is an excellent school and any parent/guardian should be proud to send their child to such a school that is so completely devoted to the children.

Greeley Elementary School 3

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
This school is not what it is cracked up to be. Bullying is a problem as is rigidity of teachers. We moved here for the schools but what a disappointment. We should have stayed in Evanston because we ended up at North Shore Country Day anyway. It is our 'neighborhood' (private) school.

Nearby schools

Greeley Elementary School
275 Fairview Ave, Winnetka, IL  60093
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (847) 446-6060
Last modified Greeley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top