Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

North Shore Country Day School

Private | PK-12 | 530 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Winnetka

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $826,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $960.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

I went to North Shore and, overall, had a good experience. I was fortunate to have a great teacher/advisor in Mr. Randolph. North Shore is a fine school for kids who need to be pushed and need that extra attention. Some kids will get lost at New Trier and that's not going to happen at North Shore- academically. But socially, students are not going to have the same opportunities. An education is also about developing interpersonal skills and finding out who you are. North Shore can be limited in that regard. So depending on the kid, this is a school that can be short on providing certain opportunities but for a different kid, it can certainly be the right school.


Posted July 5, 2013

North Shore Country Day School is an outstanding institution providing academic excellence, opportunities to lead and enriching experiences. Nothing is perfect, but each day is positive and productive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2011

North Shore has been an excellent school, giving my child access to high level classes and talented teachers. The work level at North Shore is much higher than other schools in the area; the advanced class work pushes students to become better students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2011

Fantastic school. Rigorous, fun, and creative curriculum. My son has had an amazing educational and developmental experience at North Shore. The classes are small, allowing teachers to focus on the students' individual learning styles and interests. The school has been instrumental in helping my son develop writing, math, public speaking, and critical thinking skills far beyond his grade level. The curriculum is incredibly rich and creative. For example, in addition to the rigorous fundamentals, the fifth-graders learn to make documentary movies, write and record a song in a studio, and have numerous opportunities for public speaking. The school also focuses on instilling children with a sense of self-confidence and community ethics. Something my wife and I believe is important. We believe North Shore has been well-worth the investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Excellent school. Very attentive. High quality teachers who are especially committed and insightful. Parents are pretty laid back and not pushy, which is nice. The programs are excellent, with specials teachers for most subjects, even in the lower (grade) school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

lower school teachers are very helpful. Parents with money and prestige have too much power at this school..... The middle class folks aren't given board or leadership positions. The major fundraiser is really a competition to show how much money you can flash.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

North Shore is a really good school. Small so that teachers pay attention to you when you need help, and everyone is friends with each other. Great academics. However, I wish that the high school had more course selections and that we had more of a traditional high school experience. I also wish that we had more sports, but with such a tiny school you really can't or the teams won't be big enough.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2009

I am a grade of NSCDS's upper school and my two older brothers attended both the middle and upper school. I found the school to offer excellent college preparation in english, history, science and the visual and performing arts in particular. A great experience socially and academically. Also a very strong athletics program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2009

North Shore Country Day is a school where students are known by the faculty and staff and because of this they are challenged to do their best, to grow , stretch, go outside their comfort zone and experience not only a great education but a lesson in how to self advocate and be your best at everything not just the things you like. The opportunities to participate in sports, the arts, student government and more are vast and encouraged. One of our children who is curretnly a Junior at a top 10 college, has found that North Shore prepared him for college better than almost all of his classmates. What better thing can one say about a school?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2008

NSCDS is an excellent school! The standards are high. The teachers are intuitive, creative and know how to challenge the kids. The academics are challenging. The kids are well behaved and very respectful. Students are well rounded and well prepared for the world. The faculty is attentive and knows how to challenge the kids. I give this school top ratings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

So small that students have nowhere to go if they run into trouble. The entire school is basically one big clique. Are cliques nurturing? Sure, to the ones in it. If you're going to spend that kind of money, buy a house in the New Trier school district and send your kids there. They'll get just as good an education and they'll have many more options to find their way as they navigate childhood and adolescence.


Posted September 16, 2008

NSCDS is the way every school should be! It is small, nurturing, challenging and well rounded. The students are extremely well behaved and know what is expected of them. While it is very expensive, I would live in a shack just so that I could afford to send my children there. The sheltered thing is ridiculous! We have more students from many,many communities around the Chicago area! There is no better place!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

The best experience of my entire school career. Including college. Small classes, very good teachers. The commitment of the school to inspire students to get into the best schools possible. Would not change anything in the world about NSCDS
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2007

I attended NSCDS from first through 12th grades. Unlike people I know who attended local public schools, I and most of my classmates adored our school days. Yes, in some ways we were sheltered. But we received a superior education in a small and nurturing environment. There was a very strong focus on the arts, which now as a parent I see less of in schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 29, 2004

Sent my child there for five years. Average school, Kids are too sheltered and don't recieve enough exposure. Not a real high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2004

Excellent school! Wonderful, caring, supportive faculty, great learning opportunities. Best decision we ever made for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Fabulous school, with a very caring faculty. Scholastically challenging with a terrific support system.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 60%
Black 5% 20%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 1% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Tom Doar III
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (847) 446-0675

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

310 Green Bay Road
Winnetka, IL 60093
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 446-0674

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Skokie School
Winnetka, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT