Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Winnetka, IL
Students enrolled: 530
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


North Shore Country Day School 5

Posted May 03, 2015
- a parent
I think the last comment about it being a country club is wrong, but we know people who children weren't successful there that blamed it on that. But usually it was lack of achievement academically or that the child and or the parent didn't assimilate socially. Academically it is very solid school. Several of the previous comments about limited class selection in the upper school are true, but like a small college the trade off is ok with smaller classes leading to more intense and higher quality education. Having had several children here and at the local public high school we have seen the benefits and the challenges of NSCD. The small total class size can be challenging socially but parents need to be part of the mix and that all works out. Lastly I can't say enough about the quality of the college advisory process. With 3 people doing admissions for 55 kids we have been extraordinarily pleased with the thought process ,the selection and the quality of schools our child was admitted to etc. That may be one of the most significant advantages of NSCD.
1 person found this helpful

North Shore Country Day School 5

Posted March 19, 2015
- a student
North Shore is very much true to its reputation of elite academics. No matter the academic course, there will be homework, and lots of it. However, it is clear that this work is not in vain, considering some of the colleges that the Class of 2015 is headed to next year (Yale, MIT, Caltech, Amherst, Washington University, Northwestern). Furthermore, North Shore is tied for 2nd best academics at a private school in Chicago (according to Niche rankings). No complaints regarding academics (that is pointed at you, "North Shore is not a real high school" person). All in all, I get that we're sheltered, much more than our public school counterpart (New Trier). However, this school is a downright academic powerhouse, so nay-saying parents - please be quiet.
1 person found this helpful


North Shore Country Day School 1

Posted December 09, 2014
- a parent
The school proved to be a country club and the academics were not a priority: fundraising was. I would not call NSCDS a school and I would never recommend it to anyone.
1 person found this helpful

North Shore Country Day School 4

Posted May 30, 2014
- a community member
I went to North Shore and, overall, had a good experience. I was fortunate to have a great teacher/advisor in Mr. Randolph. North Shore is a fine school for kids who need to be pushed and need that extra attention. Some kids will get lost at New Trier and that's not going to happen at North Shore- academically. But socially, students are not going to have the same opportunities. An education is also about developing interpersonal skills and finding out who you are. North Shore can be limited in that regard. So depending on the kid, this is a school that can be short on providing certain opportunities but for a different kid, it can certainly be the right school.
1 person found this helpful

North Shore Country Day School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a parent
North Shore Country Day School is an outstanding institution providing academic excellence, opportunities to lead and enriching experiences. Nothing is perfect, but each day is positive and productive.
1 person found this helpful


North Shore Country Day School 5

Posted November 04, 2011
- a parent
North Shore has been an excellent school, giving my child access to high level classes and talented teachers. The work level at North Shore is much higher than other schools in the area; the advanced class work pushes students to become better students
1 person found this helpful

North Shore Country Day School 5

Posted March 05, 2011
- a parent
Fantastic school. Rigorous, fun, and creative curriculum. My son has had an amazing educational and developmental experience at North Shore. The classes are small, allowing teachers to focus on the students' individual learning styles and interests. The school has been instrumental in helping my son develop writing, math, public speaking, and critical thinking skills far beyond his grade level. The curriculum is incredibly rich and creative. For example, in addition to the rigorous fundamentals, the fifth-graders learn to make documentary movies, write and record a song in a studio, and have numerous opportunities for public speaking. The school also focuses on instilling children with a sense of self-confidence and community ethics. Something my wife and I believe is important. We believe North Shore has been well-worth the investment.
1 person found this helpful

North Shore Country Day School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school. Very attentive. High quality teachers who are especially committed and insightful. Parents are pretty laid back and not pushy, which is nice. The programs are excellent, with specials teachers for most subjects, even in the lower (grade) school.


North Shore Country Day School 4

Posted May 28, 2010
- a parent
lower school teachers are very helpful. Parents with money and prestige have too much power at this school..... The middle class folks aren't given board or leadership positions. The major fundraiser is really a competition to show how much money you can flash.

North Shore Country Day School 4

Posted February 15, 2010
- a student
North Shore is a really good school. Small so that teachers pay attention to you when you need help, and everyone is friends with each other. Great academics. However, I wish that the high school had more course selections and that we had more of a traditional high school experience. I also wish that we had more sports, but with such a tiny school you really can't or the teams won't be big enough.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Shore Country Day School
310 Green Bay Road, Winnetka, IL  60093
(847) 446-0674
Last modified North Shore Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
North Shore Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top