Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Marian Central Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 169 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Woodstock

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $155,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 30, 2012

Im a freshman a marian and do not feel welcomed at all. I know it can be hard being a freshman, especially being new and not knowing anybody, but I feel this school doesn't push discipline as much as i would like it too. This might sound weird coming from a student, but I feel like some of the kids at this school are very judgmental, towards other kids who might be a bit different. I choose to go to marian because i thought it would be a better environment to get along with more mature kids, but i was wrong! Next year i will be transferring.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2012

We could not be more pleased with the education our son and daughter have/are receiving at Marian. The teachers are caring, professional and extremely dedicated. The atmosphere is inclusive and yet academically demanding. We have found the teachers to be consistently available to assist students both before and after school. I would highly recommend this school for anyone interested in sending their kids to a school that will thoroughly prepare the students for College.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2012

Money talks at this school. Discipline and enforcement of school policy varies widely depending on who the students is and who the teacher and adminstrator are. Curriculum is very, very limited and outdated. Teaching appears to be more lecture oriented and teachers very opinionated. The students seems to learn sheerly through the volume of homework they are given rather than from direct teacher-student interaction. Parents are expected to buy books that are never used. An equal or better educational environment can be obtained at most of the public high schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2011

The academics are challenging, but only a limited curriculum is offered at the school. School leadership talks a big game regarding ethics and discipline. However, enforcement of certain unethical conduct is lacking. Rather than focussing on the big issues of the day, school leadership is too concerned with ties not being tight enough and school spirit getting out of control. Speaking of ties, the time period of making male students wear sweaters and ties is too long (mid Oct to mid April), out of season, and out of date. More choices should be given for an appropriate dress code. Overall, Marian is a decent school. However, it doesn't offer enough to make it a cost effective choice. Schools in McHenry County, such as Cary-Grove, Prairie Ridge, and Jacobs have many more opportunities and provide a secondary education that is sufficient enough to grow as a student and be accepted at any major college program throughout the midwest and across the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2009

Great School!!! We have sent five through there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

Absolutely terrible.... religious staff is very oppionated and dont accept anything else.... i would never reccommend anyone else to go there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

My son just finished his freshman year at Marian Central. The kids are great and the teachers care about their students. Worth every cent spent. No regrets.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

Wonderful school. Go here if you want to be a lawyer, doctor, or businessman. Purely college prep and has a strong science program.


Posted September 21, 2008

Speaking as a Marian Central grad I can honestly say Marian prepared me for college. I have stronger study habits and note taking skills than other students that attend WSU with me. Teachers at Marian care about their student's success and will do anything they can to support it. The administration on the other hand are not so great. Money means alot when it comes to getting in trouble at Marian
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2008

Not a good school for average students. Inconsistency in educational quality and teaching performance. Discipline not always enforced. Students sometimes disrespect teachers and other students and the administration allows it! I would not recommend it for the money spent and return on educational investment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

One of the best decisions we made when selecting a high school for our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

While a smaller school, this is definitly your best bet is quality of education is your top priority. The school has expanded quite a bit in the last 10 years, and it will continue to do so as it has a very strong and loyal alumni group.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 3, 2005

My son is a sophmore at Marian Central. I believe he is receiving the best education available in this area. The level of academic expectations is high and the teachers are dedicated professionals. The work is not easy. Focus, preparation and serious studying is required, however, since this is a college prep school, I am relieved that my son will be comfortable in a college setting when that time comes. Unfortunately, he does not take part in many extracurricular activities because the homework is quite time consuming. I would highly recommend this school - they actually receive an education!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hispanic 3% 24%
Black 1% 18%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Charles D Rakers
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockford
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 McHenry Avenue
Woodstock, IL 60098
Phone: (815) 338-4220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Clay Academy
Woodstock, IL


Woodstock High School
Woodstock, IL




Sedom Center
Woodstock, IL


Prairie Ridge High School
Crystal Lake, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT