Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marian Central Catholic High School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
I spent may hours doing research to decided what school would be the best all around fit for my child. I am pleased to say I made the right choice.

Marian Central Catholic High School 3

Posted November 30, 2012
- a student
Im a freshman a marian and do not feel welcomed at all. I know it can be hard being a freshman, especially being new and not knowing anybody, but I feel this school doesn't push discipline as much as i would like it too. This might sound weird coming from a student, but I feel like some of the kids at this school are very judgmental, towards other kids who might be a bit different. I choose to go to marian because i thought it would be a better environment to get along with more mature kids, but i was wrong! Next year i will be transferring.


Marian Central Catholic High School 5

Posted September 04, 2012
- a parent
We could not be more pleased with the education our son and daughter have/are receiving at Marian. The teachers are caring, professional and extremely dedicated. The atmosphere is inclusive and yet academically demanding. We have found the teachers to be consistently available to assist students both before and after school. I would highly recommend this school for anyone interested in sending their kids to a school that will thoroughly prepare the students for College.

Marian Central Catholic High School 2

Posted July 18, 2012
- a parent
Money talks at this school. Discipline and enforcement of school policy varies widely depending on who the students is and who the teacher and adminstrator are. Curriculum is very, very limited and outdated. Teaching appears to be more lecture oriented and teachers very opinionated. The students seems to learn sheerly through the volume of homework they are given rather than from direct teacher-student interaction. Parents are expected to buy books that are never used. An equal or better educational environment can be obtained at most of the public high schools in the area.

Marian Central Catholic High School 3

Posted April 07, 2011
- a parent
The academics are challenging, but only a limited curriculum is offered at the school. School leadership talks a big game regarding ethics and discipline. However, enforcement of certain unethical conduct is lacking. Rather than focussing on the big issues of the day, school leadership is too concerned with ties not being tight enough and school spirit getting out of control. Speaking of ties, the time period of making male students wear sweaters and ties is too long (mid Oct to mid April), out of season, and out of date. More choices should be given for an appropriate dress code. Overall, Marian is a decent school. However, it doesn't offer enough to make it a cost effective choice. Schools in McHenry County, such as Cary-Grove, Prairie Ridge, and Jacobs have many more opportunities and provide a secondary education that is sufficient enough to grow as a student and be accepted at any major college program throughout the midwest and across the country.


Marian Central Catholic High School 5

Posted October 10, 2009
- a parent
Great School!!! We have sent five through there!

Marian Central Catholic High School 0
no rating

Posted July 25, 2009
- a student
Absolutely terrible.... religious staff is very oppionated and dont accept anything else.... i would never reccommend anyone else to go there.

Marian Central Catholic High School 5

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
My son just finished his freshman year at Marian Central. The kids are great and the teachers care about their students. Worth every cent spent. No regrets.


Marian Central Catholic High School 5

Posted January 16, 2009
- a community member
Wonderful school. Go here if you want to be a lawyer, doctor, or businessman. Purely college prep and has a strong science program.

Marian Central Catholic High School 4

Posted September 21, 2008
- a student
Speaking as a Marian Central grad I can honestly say Marian prepared me for college. I have stronger study habits and note taking skills than other students that attend WSU with me. Teachers at Marian care about their student's success and will do anything they can to support it. The administration on the other hand are not so great. Money means alot when it comes to getting in trouble at Marian

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marian Central Catholic High School
1001 McHenry Avenue, Woodstock, IL  60098
(815) 338-4220
Last modified Marian Central Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Marian Central Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top