Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Yorkville Middle School 1

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
I am extremely disappointed with this school. They do not bring home textbooks, so we have no idea what our kids are being taught or how they are being taught. The majority of their grade is their test score, but we cannot even see what our kids get wrong because they are not allowed to bring home tests. If they don't want to use textbooks, we should have some type of educational software for homework so parents can see what is going on in the classroom. We literally are left in the dark until we get an email stating how poorly our child has done on a test. Then, if they want to retake the test and your student scores poorly, they go with the lowest test grade. I do not understand how they are promoting success for the student as a whole. I believe they are setting these kids up for failure, in every aspect. I am terrified of my decision of keeping my child in this school district for all of these years. The teaching never gets better.

Yorkville Middle School 2

Posted May 14, 2015
- a community member
Yorkville middle school and any school in the district is horriable. To explain, there teacher don't even teach right. The whole 7th grade fails math test because of this teaching. They never spend school budget on students only on teachers. All staff doesn't care about bullying issues. All they seem to care is the athletes in the school. So if you don't play sports good luck fitting in. As a result yorkville middle school and the district schools are the worst.


Yorkville Middle School 2

Posted December 11, 2014
- a parent
I get that the school is large and there are many students however in regards to extracurricular activities the students are not given a fair shot. The audition process for both drama and musical are at a professional level with call backs and daily practices...for hours! The Drama teacher and Choir teacher (Motley) also tend to pick the same few students for everything. By doing this they are teaching the students that they are not good enough rather than guiding and giving a chance. All I can say is regardless of the class size students should be given a shot to learn and develop their talents...and passions before they get to the High School level. I know many have mentioned how great the drama department is....but think about the students that don't make the cut. These are 7th & 8th graders!!

Yorkville Middle School 4

Posted May 17, 2013
- a community member
Yorkville is definitely one of the best schools in the area. They have AMAZING drama and music programs and put on great performances. They also have very good sports programs, especially cross country and track. The school district isn't as big as the ones around it so students can get to know the other people at school. We also do square dancing in the middle school during the winter which is a blast. I looked forward to that from when I first heard about it. In fact, in 2011 we even set the world record for the largest square dance. Not only do they have great extra activities, but they teach very well. Coming into seventh grade I was not very good at writing but took advanced anyways. My writing teacher helped me a lot by having us write a paragraph with a prompt at the beginning of class which helped me so much. She also graded hard so I knew I had to work really hard on my papers which helped a bunch. The history teachers overall are very good, I wasn't very impressed with the 8th grade science teachers, and the math teachers do very well for the most part. The PE teachers are probably the worst because they didn't all grade the same way. In the end, this school was fabulous!

Yorkville Middle School 5

Posted January 24, 2009
- a parent
Yorkville is a great community. My kids love the schools, and the nice thing about the school set up is that after 6th grade, the kids are all together from 7th until graduation. I have a Freshman at the new Yorkville academy (9th grade only) and it has been great. She is very active in school sports and activities, and she hasn't had a lot of the stresses of being a Freshman among 900 other upper class students.


Yorkville Middle School 2

Posted November 05, 2008
- a student
I do not believe Yorkville is giving me the education I need. Another thing is the teachers are not the best.

Yorkville Middle School 5

Posted May 13, 2008
- a student
I love this school!! It has the nicest teachers! Plus, we have an awesome drama department and in our new middle school is gonna have an autitorium!

Yorkville Middle School 2

Posted August 27, 2007
- a student
I know you might think i'm saying bad things about the school cuz i go there, but your children will have an un pleasent expirience in this school distrect in general because of the increasing city growth there is crazy shcools i.e. 2 grade schools that teaches grades 4-6 go to 1 middle school that teaches grades 7-8 instead of 6-8, and then onto the freshman only buliding, then a 10-12 grade highschool your children will have to move around schools alot and it may/will be an unpleasent expirience for your child.


Yorkville Middle School 5

Posted May 07, 2005
- a parent
My Daughter has come to Middle in Nov 04, and has a Learning Disability, and by May 05, I see a big improvement on all subjects. She is doing a homework and projects on her own for the first time. She's also enjoying school for the 1st time.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yorkville Middle School
920 Prairie Crossing Drive, Yorkville, IL  60560
(630) 553-4544
Last modified Yorkville Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Yorkville Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top