Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Our Shepherd Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 125 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Avon

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $158,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2009

We have 2 children in OSLS and absolutely love the quality education and attention that they receive. We would not take our girls anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

Our Shepherd ranks right up there with many of the prestigious schools in the Indy area. Having three children attend OS and having taught at one of these other elite private schools I find that OSLS is competitive academically, socially, and there is the added component of a Christ-Centered environment, which you will see in action daily. The school continues to grow and add academic areas and extracurricular activities so each child can excel and no matter what their strengths. With the new building being built in the next couple years the opportunities will only increase with more land and building space. OSLS is a hidden gem in the world of academics! The only criticism I have is that more parents need to get involved.there is so much more that could be accomplished with more parents giving of their time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

Our Shepherd is a great place for students to learn and grow academically and in Jesus Christ our Lord. It is a very inviting school with a close-knit and welcoming church and school family.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 21, 2006

As an alumni of this school I'd say that it is a good school. The academics are great. They really care about each kid. Most of the teachers are great. Some of them show favoritism to certain students. The extracurriculars aren't fantastic. The principal is great. He has brought a lot to this school and always wants the best for it.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 8, 2006

Our Daughter has started Kindergarten at this school and we are very happy with this school. This school is in the midst of change with the influx of families moving out to the Westside of Indianapolis and Our Shepherd is seeing some of the benefits from it. We plan on having her continue on next year and feel that the quality of education (academically as well as spiritually) is well worth the money we pay to have her attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2006

Our shepherd lutheran school is outstanding! i have 2 daughters there and they absolutely love it, as do my husband and i. The small setting allows the faculty to be on a first name basis with every child and the students are given every chance to succeed on every level, academic, emotional and spiritual i wouldn't put my children anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
79%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 74% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 78% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

12 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 74%
Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 3% 12%
Multiracial 1% 4%
American Indian N/A 0%
Hispanic N/A 7%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
English learners 0%N/AN/A
Special education 3%N/AN/A
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/AN/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Jeffrey Huntington
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (317) 271-3084

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9201 East County Road 100 North
Avon, IN 46123
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 271-9100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT