Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted June 19, 2015
- a parent
The kindergarten teacher discriminates against certain families. If your child doesn't fit the "mold" for her then your child will be treated differently.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted June 19, 2015
- a parent
The effectiveness depends on the teacher you get as with any school. We did not have enough experience to answer for all grades. The ones we encountered we were not impressed with.


Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 19, 2015
- a parent
Most of the staff are wonderful. If it weren't for the Kindergarten teacher we would love this school.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School 1

Posted June 19, 2015
- a parent
The Kindergarten teacher discriminates against certain students. If the student doesn't fit her "mold" then she will treat them badly. She has no consequences for her actions. She has been a teacher at this school for a long time. But, your child has to be perfect to be in her class.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School 5

Posted February 25, 2015
- a parent
Benefits of sending your child to Our Shepherd are many. Of course the education is phenomenal were very blessed to have the teachers and the staff that we do have the class size we have but the benefits go far beyond what is exactly on paper.


Our Shepherd Lutheran School 5

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
We have 2 children in OSLS and absolutely love the quality education and attention that they receive. We would not take our girls anywhere else.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School 5

Posted May 07, 2007
- a parent
Our Shepherd ranks right up there with many of the prestigious schools in the Indy area. Having three children attend OS and having taught at one of these other elite private schools I find that OSLS is competitive academically, socially, and there is the added component of a Christ-Centered environment, which you will see in action daily. The school continues to grow and add academic areas and extracurricular activities so each child can excel and no matter what their strengths. With the new building being built in the next couple years the opportunities will only increase with more land and building space. OSLS is a hidden gem in the world of academics! The only criticism I have is that more parents need to get involved.there is so much more that could be accomplished with more parents giving of their time.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School 5

Posted February 19, 2007
- a student
Our Shepherd is a great place for students to learn and grow academically and in Jesus Christ our Lord. It is a very inviting school with a close-knit and welcoming church and school family.


Our Shepherd Lutheran School 4

Posted July 21, 2006
- a student
As an alumni of this school I'd say that it is a good school. The academics are great. They really care about each kid. Most of the teachers are great. Some of them show favoritism to certain students. The extracurriculars aren't fantastic. The principal is great. He has brought a lot to this school and always wants the best for it.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School 4

Posted March 08, 2006
- a parent
Our Daughter has started Kindergarten at this school and we are very happy with this school. This school is in the midst of change with the influx of families moving out to the Westside of Indianapolis and Our Shepherd is seeing some of the benefits from it. We plan on having her continue on next year and feel that the quality of education (academically as well as spiritually) is well worth the money we pay to have her attend this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Shepherd Lutheran School
9201 East County Road 100 North, Avon, IN  46123
(317) 271-9100
Last modified Our Shepherd Lutheran School is a Private school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Our Shepherd Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top