Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8 & Ungraded|Private
179 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
Our teachers are highly effective and put in a lot of time and effort in ensuring our students are successful both from an academic perspective as well as from a personal perspective. We are truly blessed to have the teaching staff that we have.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
I love the fact that the older students on many occasions help "mentor" the younger students be it as a chapel buddy or as a reading buddy. I have seen numerous occasions where the students show caring, compassion, and support to all of the students regardless of grade level.


Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
The school upholds the teachings in scripture and also holds all students to a level of behavioral accountability which I appreciate so much as a parent. It is one of the reasons why my child goes here.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School 5

Posted August 09, 2015
- a parent
My child's experience at this school has been absolutely amazing! Our oldest child went to public school and now we have chosen to send our youngest to Our Shepherd for a variety of reasons. The kindergarten and first grade teachers have gone above and beyond with all of their students (I volunteer a lot at the school and see the interaction for myself) and we are so pleased with the Christian education she is receiving.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School 5

Posted August 07, 2015
- a student
My child just graduated out of kindergarten at Our Shepherd and we could not be more pleased. Standards on behavior and participation are high, but life is not going to cut them any slack as they move on in school, so why should kindergarten be any different. As much as they learned, they had fun in equal measure . The environment is faithfully and loving with dedicated teachers.


Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 07, 2015
- a student
Each teacher is dedicated and faithful to their God, School and students. Their determination to bring out the best is aided by smaller class sizes and a very involved staff

Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 07, 2015
- a student
It varies greatly from class to classmoron what I know. I suspect that is true of all schools

Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted August 07, 2015
- a student
The higher standards on the grading scale make students strive to do more with their minds.


Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 07, 2015
- a student
The teachers respect their students and expect the same in return to anyone the come in contact with.

Our Shepherd Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 07, 2015
- a student
Absolutely. Caring about your fellow students and showing the love of Christ in your demeanor is encouraged

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Shepherd Lutheran School
9201 East County Road 100 North, Avon, IN  46123
(317) 271-9100
Last modified Our Shepherd Lutheran School is a Private school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Our Shepherd Lutheran School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top