Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Avon High School 5

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
There are so many opportunities at AHS. It is a very big school with so many ways to get involved. Top notch academics.

Avon High School 1

Posted July 24, 2014
- a student
As someone who's attended a multitude of schools in two different states and four different cities, I must say Avon is the worst I've been to. It's not the academics that I have a problem with, it's everything else. Secondly, some of the teachers and administration are rude! They don't care about the students, just their pay check. The only teachers I know that get to know their students are the ones that get to see their students after school or multiple times a day. It's like if you only see them once a day, they're just another kid. I just don't like that. I have a family member who was bullied at Avon and the administration did nothing about it! In another situation someone wasn't bullied but the administration accused them of it! When I say I know them, I mean I'm The parents are another serious problem. They think that their kid is the best out there. I watched a fellow student be threatened by an adult on school property the other day... With the administration there. It was absolutely ridiculous. Some parents are crazy and horribly crude to many other students too. Personally I just don't like Avon very well.


Avon High School 5

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
Avon High School is a fabulous school. The teachers connect with the kids and actually CARE about them. They push the students to excel in all areas - not just the academics. And I disagree with a previous comment about administration. The AHS administration deserve only praise for providing a safe, secure, and top-notch environment for our Avon kids. The freshman teaming concept provided a wonderful environment for both of our children. It made a large high school feel small and inviting. The Advanced Learning Center provided a place where our children could earn college credit and be pushed to excel. Parents are involved and go above and beyond to support programs. Overall, I have nothing but praise for this school. I may not have always agreed with some of the teachers, but that's okay. My kids are getting a great education and I'm proud to say that our kids go to Avon High School.

Avon High School 3

Posted September 21, 2012
- a parent
Teachers are high quality but underpaid and most of the dollars go to the high level administrators and super.. No four star in 8 years, due to poor school leadership. School board poor quality and disrespect teachers by riffing them during the school day. Parents care and voluteer a lot. Need better principals a different board and better paid educators instead of overpaid administraters.

Avon High School 4

Posted July 14, 2011
- a student
Avon High School is the best school I have ever attended. There is a wide variety of classes and the band program is remarkable. Most of the teachers love their jobs and are willing to work with you. I do think the school should treat its staff better after an "incident" this past year. It has a great facility for the senior class, the Advanced Learning Center. Seniors are requried to have laptops and are given e-mails to make it easy to communicate with teachers outside of school. Also, many teachers are willingly to help students apply to colleges. A class that is highly reccommended is Personal & Family Finances.


Avon High School 5

Posted November 19, 2007
- a student
The best school I've attended yet.

Avon High School 4

Posted August 14, 2007
- a student
As a student that attends this school I have a few complaints. The teachers have always been great, as have the clubs I've been in. However, this school never focusses on individual child need because it is such a large system.

Avon High School 1

Posted July 04, 2007
- a student
Well as a specialist in this particular school I would have to say that it diffidently does not feel like a safe school. When you are there you feel like you aren't trusted by anyone. Every thing else is great I think.


Avon High School 5

Posted September 25, 2005
- a parent
This school is amazing it is a safe enviornment in which the students learn many skills. The Athletic and extra cirricular activities are great. Although Avon is a growing community that hasnt stopped the education provided by the great students and staff.

Avon High School 5

Posted June 09, 2005
- a parent
The teachers at Avon High School are excellent! The building is only a few years old & provides many extras for the students. We are lucky to have a dedicated school board & superintendent. I highly recommend this school!

Nearby schools

Avon High School
7575 East County Road 150 South, Avon, IN  46123
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (317) 544-5000
Last modified Avon High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top