Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Avon Middle School South 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
I really love the school. The sport program is absolutely wonderful and my son is straight A and wouldn't be there if it were not for outstanding teachers!! I have had two sons go through this school and have never been anything but pleased.

Avon Middle School South 2

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended here, and now my son is in 8th grade. I like the principals, however I am very disappointed with the lack of support for students who may be falling behind academically. I feel the staff are overwhelmed with too many students. I also feel that there is sometimes unfair treatment of minority students because I saw that certain students would be assigned "Saturday school" for certain things, while other students doing the SAME thing would just be given a verbal warning. I do appreciate the zero tolerance for bullying, but teachers need to be more responsive earlier in the situation. The athletic department seems to play favorites though, so if you're not a buddy of one of the coaches, or if your kid isn't well-known to them, your kid won't get much playing time, or a chance to prove themselves.


Avon Middle School South 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2009
- a student
I HATE it there. The school has some of the stupidest rules: No hugging or hi fives. The teachers are nosy, and there is too much drama. They look at some students as if they are 3 years old. It is GREAT that they are building another one. The only thing I will miss from there is probably the clubs and my friends.

Avon Middle School South 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a student
My school is great! The teachers are awesome! 99% of my fellow students would agree with me.

Avon Middle School South 1

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Avon Middle School South 2

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
Overcrowded, parent involvement is not wanted. I never knew what was going on!

Avon Middle School South 0
no rating

Posted June 04, 2008
- a student
I go to avon middle school I think it is fine I was kind of scared at first but I got used to it the teachers are nice and help alot the kids are kind of nice but that is not what school is about so other than that I think it is fine

Avon Middle School South 4

Posted May 22, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Avon Middle School South 5

Posted April 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Avon Middle School South 1

Posted February 21, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avon Middle School South
7199 East US highway 36, Avon, IN  46123
(317) 544-5700
Last modified Avon Middle School South is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Avon Middle School South Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.