Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Avon Middle School South
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
Chris Sayles had a heart of gold and is an outstanding teacher. He truly cares about the kids and it shows in the kids success!

Avon Middle School South
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
AMS has wonderful teachers.I appreciate all the do! They take the time to make sure kids understand the material.


Avon Middle School South
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
The only issue I have is bullying. I realize that the administration and teachers can't be evey where but things can get out of hand before anything is done.

Avon Middle School South 5

Posted February 24, 2016
- a community member
The administration as well as the teachers all seem to care about the kids and seem to have the best interest of the kids at heart. I appreciate how well the teachers especially the learning resource teachers stay in close contact with parents.

Avon Middle School South 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
I really love the school. The sport program is absolutely wonderful and my son is straight A and wouldn't be there if it were not for outstanding teachers!! I have had two sons go through this school and have never been anything but pleased.


Avon Middle School South 2

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended here, and now my son is in 8th grade. I like the principals, however I am very disappointed with the lack of support for students who may be falling behind academically. I feel the staff are overwhelmed with too many students. I also feel that there is sometimes unfair treatment of minority students because I saw that certain students would be assigned "Saturday school" for certain things, while other students doing the SAME thing would just be given a verbal warning. I do appreciate the zero tolerance for bullying, but teachers need to be more responsive earlier in the situation. The athletic department seems to play favorites though, so if you're not a buddy of one of the coaches, or if your kid isn't well-known to them, your kid won't get much playing time, or a chance to prove themselves.

Avon Middle School South
no rating

Posted April 25, 2009
- a student
I HATE it there. The school has some of the stupidest rules: No hugging or hi fives. The teachers are nosy, and there is too much drama. They look at some students as if they are 3 years old. It is GREAT that they are building another one. The only thing I will miss from there is probably the clubs and my friends.

Avon Middle School South 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a student
My school is great! The teachers are awesome! 99% of my fellow students would agree with me.


Avon Middle School South 2

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
Overcrowded, parent involvement is not wanted. I never knew what was going on!

Avon Middle School South
no rating

Posted June 04, 2008
- a student
I go to avon middle school I think it is fine I was kind of scared at first but I got used to it the teachers are nice and help alot the kids are kind of nice but that is not what school is about so other than that I think it is fine

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avon Middle School South
7199 East US Highway 36, Avon, IN  46123
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (317) 544-5700
Last modified Avon Middle School South is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top