Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Avon Middle School South 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
I really love the school. The sport program is absolutely wonderful and my son is straight A and wouldn't be there if it were not for outstanding teachers!! I have had two sons go through this school and have never been anything but pleased.

Avon Middle School South 2

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended here, and now my son is in 8th grade. I like the principals, however I am very disappointed with the lack of support for students who may be falling behind academically. I feel the staff are overwhelmed with too many students. I also feel that there is sometimes unfair treatment of minority students because I saw that certain students would be assigned "Saturday school" for certain things, while other students doing the SAME thing would just be given a verbal warning. I do appreciate the zero tolerance for bullying, but teachers need to be more responsive earlier in the situation. The athletic department seems to play favorites though, so if you're not a buddy of one of the coaches, or if your kid isn't well-known to them, your kid won't get much playing time, or a chance to prove themselves.


Avon Middle School South
no rating

Posted April 25, 2009
- a student
I HATE it there. The school has some of the stupidest rules: No hugging or hi fives. The teachers are nosy, and there is too much drama. They look at some students as if they are 3 years old. It is GREAT that they are building another one. The only thing I will miss from there is probably the clubs and my friends.

Avon Middle School South 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a student
My school is great! The teachers are awesome! 99% of my fellow students would agree with me.

Avon Middle School South 2

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
Overcrowded, parent involvement is not wanted. I never knew what was going on!


Avon Middle School South
no rating

Posted June 04, 2008
- a student
I go to avon middle school I think it is fine I was kind of scared at first but I got used to it the teachers are nice and help alot the kids are kind of nice but that is not what school is about so other than that I think it is fine

Avon Middle School South 5

Posted September 13, 2007
- a student
I think this school is the best school for middle school students in the state of Indiana. This school is absolutely amazing and I wouldn't change anything about it.

Avon Middle School South 2

Posted July 14, 2007
- a student
I went to this school. It was horrible. i was so happy when i moved to brownsburg East middle school last year. I cant stand Avon. The teachers dont care if your passing they just make it harder and then the kids that cant handle the work and are failing are getting harder work. They just don't help you.


Avon Middle School South 1

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
I am moving out of the school district. There are too many students and the teachers cannot handle the load. When I asked a teacher what my child could do to get back on track I was told that she doesn't have time to concentrate on one student. Another teacher told me to just let him fail and maybe it would teach him a lesson. The town council can't stop the growth legally and the city is just not keeping up with the growth. I did not find the administration easy to work with or at all concerned. As far as parent involvement I was never made to feel welcome to become involved in any school projects or events. When I tried to get involved with academic assistance it was to no avail. Very disappointed in School System.

Avon Middle School South 1

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
Not happy with teacher involvement or desire to help students succeed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avon Middle School South
7199 East US Highway 36, Avon, IN  46123
(317) 544-5700
Last modified Avon Middle School South is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Avon Middle School South Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top