Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


Avon Middle School South 5

Posted February 02, 2012
- a parent
I really love the school. The sport program is absolutely wonderful and my son is straight A and wouldn't be there if it were not for outstanding teachers!! I have had two sons go through this school and have never been anything but pleased.

Avon Middle School South 2

Posted August 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended here, and now my son is in 8th grade. I like the principals, however I am very disappointed with the lack of support for students who may be falling behind academically. I feel the staff are overwhelmed with too many students. I also feel that there is sometimes unfair treatment of minority students because I saw that certain students would be assigned "Saturday school" for certain things, while other students doing the SAME thing would just be given a verbal warning. I do appreciate the zero tolerance for bullying, but teachers need to be more responsive earlier in the situation. The athletic department seems to play favorites though, so if you're not a buddy of one of the coaches, or if your kid isn't well-known to them, your kid won't get much playing time, or a chance to prove themselves.


Avon Middle School South 0
no rating

Posted April 25, 2009
- a student
I HATE it there. The school has some of the stupidest rules: No hugging or hi fives. The teachers are nosy, and there is too much drama. They look at some students as if they are 3 years old. It is GREAT that they are building another one. The only thing I will miss from there is probably the clubs and my friends.

Avon Middle School South 5

Posted April 08, 2009
- a student
My school is great! The teachers are awesome! 99% of my fellow students would agree with me.

Avon Middle School South 1

Posted August 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Avon Middle School South 2

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
Overcrowded, parent involvement is not wanted. I never knew what was going on!

Avon Middle School South 0
no rating

Posted June 04, 2008
- a student
I go to avon middle school I think it is fine I was kind of scared at first but I got used to it the teachers are nice and help alot the kids are kind of nice but that is not what school is about so other than that I think it is fine

Avon Middle School South 4

Posted May 22, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Avon Middle School South 5

Posted April 10, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Avon Middle School South 1

Posted February 21, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Contact Information

7199 East US highway 36
Avon, IN 46123

School website
(317) 544-5700
(317) 544-5701

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Avon Middle School South
7199 East US highway 36, Avon, IN  46123
(317) 544-5700
Last modified Avon Middle School South is a public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Avon Middle School South Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.