Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Tree Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 410 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

Pine Tree is one of the most amazing schools in the community. My daughter has been attending there for 3 years and I must admit that she has grown academically. The staff are awesome and the school is consistent in keeping parents informed on any changes, udpates, or programs. I love Pine Tree and would recommend this school to anyone who is considering moving to the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2010

Pine Tree is a great school. All three of my kids attended there. The school has really changed for the better with the new principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2010

Curriculum is lacking, particularly literacy. Teaching methodology is outdated, and data is collected but not really used for anything. Disappointing performance in an otherwise excellent district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

I can only base my review on my child's kindergarten experience, but I find the curriculum lacking. It is much more pre-school oriented than kindergarten. Since they only have a half-day program, it is particularly frustrating that the curriculum is so full of fluff. I have spoken to parents of kindergarteners who had children attend in other Avon schools, and they are working at a much higher level. Hopefully thefirst grade teacehrs can catch these guys up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2008

We absolutely love Pine Tree! Education comes first in our house and Pine Tree has exceeded our expectations for our daughters' education. The PTO is great! Pine Tree goes above and beyond with all the extras too! I can't imagine my children going anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

We love Pine Tree! Our new school will be Cedar and I can only hope that it will be as good as this school has been. All the teachers that we have had here have been great, esp. Mrs. Guernsey!!! She is the best teacher at Pine Tree and we will miss her!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2005

I am on the PTO for this school. Ms. Isenhour, the principal, is SO great! I am very impressed with her hard work & sincere concern for the students. She really does what's best for the students. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2005

We just moved to the area last year, and my son started 4th grade at Pine Tree. Before coming to this school, it was like pulling teeth to get my son to read. Now, thanks to Mrs. Bowman, he enjoys reading and enjoys school. I only have wonderful things to say about Pine Tree. The projects and special events keep the kids interested in the curriculum! Pine Tree gets an A+!! Sincerely, Serina Kelly
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2003

My daughter went to Pine Tree for grades K thru 2. We were blessed with a great staff of teachers, aides and volunteers. She is now in the 4th grade and she is excelling in all subjects. Her favorite teacher is one from Pine Tree. They have a wonderful and caring staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 85% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

English/Language Arts

The state average for English/Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 74% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the Indiana Statewide Testing for Educational Progress-Plus (ISTEP+) assessment to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, grades 4 and 6 in science, and in grades 5 and 7 in social studies. The ISTEP+ is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Indiana. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math and English Language Arts

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 72%
Black 10% 12%
Hispanic 10% 10%
Multiracial 5% 4%
Asian 2% 2%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A46%
Special education 21%N/A14%
English learners 5%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs Karie Mize
Fax number
  • (317) 544-6501

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7866 East County Road 100 North
Avon, IN 46123
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 544-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT