No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Children's House

Private | PK-3

We are best known for hands on science and math.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Beech Grove

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2012

The teachers at MCH give so much one on one attention to each student. The teachers know the kids, know their strengths, know their learning styles. In true Montessori fashion, the children are met where they are academically, and are challenged appropriately, regardless of age. The tradeoff is, when the teachers are working with individual students, the other kids are left on their own. The kids are too young to handle this level of independence and often use the time poorly, bullying and picking on each other. We have been very surprised at the amount of bullying our child has received, and sadly learned to inflict on others. If your child needs quiet and structure to work, his own space, etc, this is not the environment for them. With the transition of ownership, it appears MCH has lost a great deal of focus. The new owner is a business owner and parent, not an educator. During both summer camp and the school year, many ideas that were presented to us in orientation have NOT been followed through. Summer camp was simply daycare. We are very disappointed and will not be returning next year. It will take a while to undo the negative things he has learned at MCH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2011

My daughter is in the Children's Garden. She started as a 2 year old. She wasn't potty trained, but mentally was really ready for more instruction and opportunities to learn. At this age, the jobs focus on dexterity, empathy, shapes, colors, numbers, sharing, etc. They change the jobs fairly often so the kids are constantly trying new things. Everyday she comes home and tells me she had fun learning and there is absolutely no drama at drop off. Her vocabulary continues to improve, especially through the use of songs and jobs. I love that the teachers write down what she's been working on, what she ate, when she napped, and what supplies she needs. I use the before and after school care because of my job. I couldn't be happier with the education and care my daughter receives here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

terrible management, way too many kids vs. too few teachers, lax displince and extreme favoratism towards the teachers/owners children. we had a terrible experience here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

My child has accomplished more in two months at Montessori Children's House than he did in two years at his previous school. His reading and math skills have improved dramatically, and he has also developed a sense of pride in his work. I credit the dedicated and creative teachers at the Montessori Children's House with the positive changes I have seen in my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

I have had my two sons enrolled there now for two years, and they are both doing very well. The teachers are happy to work with children at whatever level they are comfortable; so now my elder son is learning to read and also doing algebra at age 7.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2006

I LOVE Montessori Children's House! This is my daughter's fourth year here and she has learned so much! The teachers are SO committed to the children. They respect the children as individuals and encourage their learning and creativity. My daughter has learned to read VERY WELL and she is only 5! She has also learned to add and subtract, to locate all the continents, and to name all the planets. Perhaps most importantly, though, she has learned to be courteous and friendly and to genuinely care for others and treat them with respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 74%
American Indian N/A 0%
Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 2%
Black 0% 12%
Hispanic 0% 7%
Multiracial 0% 4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30am
School end time
  • 2:45pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private
Catholic
Public
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

222 S 4th Ave
Beech Grove, IN 46107
Website: Click here
Phone: (317) 787-9661

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare