Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bloomington High School South

Public | 9-12 | 1745 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2013

I only attended this school my freshman year after moving from Kansas. It was the best school experience I ever had and I have a lot of fond memories of this place. The teachers were hands on and build students up rather than tear them down. They were very accommodating to new students and made us feel very welcome.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2012

I moved to Indiana after living in Texas and moving from a 300 student school down in Texas to a 1,000 + school up here it was a great experience! BHSS is a great school with lovely teachers but the main office staff was a little out of sorts. But other than that it was a lovely experience. The classes are wonderful and very interesting.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 4, 2009

BHSN provides a great education while focusing on personal development as well. I am proud of our school system in Monroe County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

The school offers high quality arts experiences for students, in addition to holding state championships in various sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

In general, it was o.k. The teachers are moderately interested and the students are nice in general. But I'm frustrated at the lack of competition. There aren't any national competitions and the teachers have no idea what I'm talking about. I end up informing them instead.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2006

My daughter will be a sophomore at South this fall. As a former high school teacher I'm pretty particular about her education. Overall we've been pleased. Classes are offered for a variety of skill levels. The number and variety of advanced course offerings (AP and honors) are among the best I have heard about and students may choose a very challenging schedule. Numerous extracurricular activities, fine arts, and sports are available. Given the nature of being in a college town, it's not surprising that the school does well academically and in extracurricular activities. Most teachers are really committed to their profession and available for extra help. Parents are pretty involved in athletics, band, orchestra, choir, and other extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2005

I think the academic programs are great at the school, However, there is a real need to update the special education help they give students. Some students need an aide in the academic classroom and that should be provided. Yes there is a lot of parent involvement but not as much as could be. Parents need to be there often and not just for conferences. Music, art and sports are very good at South High School, with lots of participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2004

I switched from Terre Haute South HS to Bloomington HS South. It was the best decision my parents have ever made. BHSS offered many engaging courses across a spectrum of disciplines. I was even able to take an AP Literature course taught by an Oxford graduate! The new fine arts wing is more than twice the size of that at THS, the sports teams actually win most games, and the environment is safe and conducive to learning. I now attend one of among a handful of the nation's elite private liberal arts schools. I write this review as a student thoroughly disappointed with Terre Haute South and incredibly grateful to the faculty and administration of Bloomington HS South for allowing me to reach my full potential.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 70% in 2013.

304 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
59%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 48% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
42%
English

The state average for English was 76% in 2013.

437 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Indiana used the End-of-Course (ECA) assessment to test students in middle and high school in Algebra I, Biology I, and English 10. The ECA is a criterion-referenced assessment developed specifically for students completing their instruction in Algebra I, Biology I, or English 10. The goal is for all students to score at the passing level on the test.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

20%
of schools in the state are Below average
55%
of schools in the state are Average
25%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

80%

Average SAT score

544

Graduation rate

95.2%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISTEP and End of Course Assessment results.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, SAT participation (% of graduates taking the SAT), and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12.

Starting College

How many graduates from this school ...


Enroll in college immediately after high school graduation1

This school

 
 
73%

State Average

 
 
64%

Need remediation, or help strengthening basic skills2*

This school

 
 
23%

State Average

 
 
31%

First year

How well prepared for college are these graduates?*


Average first year GPA (out of 4.0)2
2.8
This school
2.6
State Average

Average number of units completed in first year2
23
This school
30
Recommended load

Sticking with it

How many college-going students...*


Enroll in college for a second year3

This school

 
 
79%

State Average

 
 
75%
1Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, National Student Clearinghouse, 2011-2012
2Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
3Source: Indiana Commission for Higher Education, Indiana Dept. of Education, 2010-2011
* Of those that went to Indiana public postsecondary institutions

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 72%
Multiracial 6% 4%
Asian 5% 2%
Black 4% 12%
Hispanic 3% 10%
American Indian 1% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A46%
Special education 12%N/A14%
English learners 2%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Mark Fletcher
Fax number
  • (812) 330-7810

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1965 South Walnut Street
Bloomington, IN 47401
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 330-7714

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Pinnacle School
Bloomington, IN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT