Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rogers Elementary School

Public | K-2 | 342 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

Teacher is lovely, helpful. My daughter is very happy everyday after school. School library encourage kids reading. My daughter's reading improve very quickly after she went to kindergarten. Teacher send parents her working list every week. So parents know what their kids learn at school. Also, kids are friendly in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

I am a mother of a 1st grader.Our family just got of the military after 7 years and my husband got a job here in Indiana, when we arrived and came into the school to enroll our daughter I have never felt so welcomed from the secertary of the office to the principle who made a point to come out and welcome us even during a busy time at school.Our daughter had Ms.Holmes for about 4 weeks until we closed on o ur house and had to move again, I highly recommened her, the worlds best teacher ever...We got very close to the school very fast. They always included and encouraged parents to be a part of the things are children are learning...We miss them all so so much, I wish we could have stayed in that district..To this day her teacher at Rogers still calls to check on her.Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

This is the most loving caring environment for K-2 children. Children routinely score highly on all testing and art opportunities. The teachers are loving and supportive. Parents contribute to all areas within the school, volunteer many hours of their time. Students from IU classes volunteer in classrooms and attend some education courses in the Rogers Building.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 4, 2009

I'm a parent of a kindergartner at Rogers Elementary. It's great. The kids have a variety of classes and activities. The teachers are very knowledgeable and caring. What I like most is that the school is a K-2 school. It's a school that by it's very nature emphasizes young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I am the grandparent of a Rodger Elementary 1st grade student. His kg expereience was great. The curriculum was well blended with emphasis on learning to read, do math and write with art, music and physical education. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. Volunteers were welcome. Although my grandson is a minority, there were few opportunities were differences were made. He loves the school and looks forward to going to Binford. This year has been a good beginning. I like that there are many family activities. The fundraisers are nice to.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted February 21, 2006

My first child attends kindergarten at Rogers. I do not have a lot of other experience in other schools, but I have heard somethings from other moms. Rogers still has recess, music, library, P.E. and starts the kindergarteners off on reading. This seems to be more rare these days. My son really enjoys his teacher and she seems to know him well. He was placed in advanced reading. He has done very well, in part due to the testing done by his teacher and her support staff, a group of retired teachers who come to help out. There are also a lot of student teachers available in this area because of Indiana University. Many parents spend time in the classroom helping out. This gives the kids the chance to use computer and get out for field trips. So far my experience with Rogers has been quite positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
  • In 2011-2012, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2010-2011, this school received a grade of "A".
  • In 2009-2010, this school received a grade of "A".

About the tests


Indiana uses the A through F School Grading System to assess the overall performance of a school. For the 2011-2012 school year, schools were graded based on performance and participation levels in state standardized tests and student growth using the Indiana Growth Model. In addition, high schools were graded on four-year (on-time) graduation rates and college and career readiness indicators including Advanced Placment exam results and industry certification exam results.

Source: Indiana Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 72%
Asian 14% 2%
Hispanic 6% 10%
Multiracial 4% 4%
Black 3% 12%
American Indian 0% 0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students participating in free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A46%
Special education 10%N/A14%
English learners 14%N/A5%
Source: IN Dept. of Education, 2012-2013

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2200 East 2nd Street
Bloomington, IN 47401
Website: Click here
Phone: (812) 330-7767

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Childs Elementary School
Bloomington, IN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT