Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
126 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Pinnacle School 5

Posted April 16, 2014
- a parent
Pinnacle has been a life saver for our 2 sons. Both of them were struggling in public school, in spite of being above average in intelligence. Pinnacle did ongoing evaluations with our children and came up with a customized plan for each of them to succeed. They are both doing quite well now and are testing above average in their grades. Without Pinnacle, our boys would have continued to struggle, receiving poor grades and their self-esteem would have plummeted. Both boys have said, "Pinnacle is the best school I have attended". (The have both attended 3 previous schools including public and private).

Pinnacle School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
Pinnacle staff understands how my daughter thinks and builds upon her strengths. We discovered that my daughter has dyslexia and started her at Pinnacle in 2nd grade. There she learned to decode and read fluently. She was a very reluctant writer, but Pinnacle has turned her into a teenager who writes stories for fun! Pinnacle reaches students when other schools do not. At Pinnacle, my daughter is supported, motivated, challenged, and heard. She thrives in this diverse and STEM-focused environment. My only wish is for Pinnacle to be available at public-school cost for those with learning differences. However, the State of Indiana recognizes the value Pinnacle brings to our community by supporting families through the School Choice voucher program. This helps make Pinnacle accessible to even more students who think differently. I cannot say enough about the good Pinnacle does for families in Bloomington.


Pinnacle School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Pinnacle School has been everything and more that we could hope for. the teachers/staff/director are great communicators with us regarding our sons status and progress, and have really helped him make great strides in his abilities and self confidence. We are so happy with Pinnacle!

Pinnacle School 4

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
Our children attend Pinnacle and it has been a beneficial for them. Teachers and staff are quite supportive and understanding. They offer varied educational opportunities to challenge and engage students who struggle with learning disabilities. Pinnacle is different from a traditional school setting. Children interact more with different age groups, have greater responsibility in taking care of and shaping their school, and engage in learning activities that are "non traditional." They do not "teach to the test." Class size is limited to 12. There are some areas of weaknesses that need to be addressed . First, there is no playground equipment and very limited "recreation" time. students would benefit from having more time for physical exercise, such as climbing, jumping, swinging, etc. These are important sensory activities that can be beneficial to their ability to learn. Another concern is with their arts and foreign language program. I would like to see a variety of Art classes offered for older students and a music program adopted school wide. I hope that, as the school grows , hose options are also integrated into their curriculum.

Pinnacle School 2

Posted March 21, 2012
- a parent
Pinnacle is for school for dyslexia and will only tolerate very COMPLIANT other processing issues children who are accepted only to fill slots to cover operating costs. Too long of day considering that more homework than public school (took 2-3 hours a night), too many non-educational movies watched in school, lack of fitness (20 minutes per day) in a car garage, and math covered only 60% of books (public school covered 80%). No accommodations for individual child as promised in interview. Also can't leave mid-year with half of tuition refunded no matter what is stated in interview. Counselor was good. Only Orton-Gillingham program utilized, no alternatives. If child is not dyslexic, still must do O-G program and no grade level reading/vocabulary/writing will be taught beyond what is determined for the general dyslexia classroom setting no matter what is promised in interview.


Pinnacle School
no rating

Posted July 14, 2009
- a parent
5 stars. My daughter attended 1 1/2 years and the school was a life saver for her. Wish we hadn't moved because this school was phenomenal.

Pinnacle School
no rating

Posted April 26, 2009
- a parent
At first this school appeared to be the answer to our prayers. With small (max of 12) class size, a special reading program for dyslexia and opportunities for things outside of the typical school offerings like yoga and pet care made this school worth the $10,000/year tuition. Unfortunately the discipline issues take most of the teacher s time and there is far too much time spent on movies, video games, and parties. It turns out there is really no good option in this town for children with reading problems since the MCCSC schools are far worse.

Pinnacle School
no rating

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
I give this school 5 stars. Both my son and my grandson goes to this school. They are both doing very well. This school was a life saver for my family.


Pinnacle School 5

Posted May 17, 2007
- a parent
The school is unique, incredibly good and half the price of other schools like it in other states. This school is a blessing if you have a child with dyslexia.

Nearby schools

Pinnacle School
2182 North Industrial Drive, Bloomington, IN  47404
(812) 339-8141
Last modified Pinnacle School is a Private school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top